Do double reach weapons exist?


log in or register to remove this ad


Yeoman said:
But they are no longer appropriately sized, so they don't count as reach weapons.

Well, now, that's arguable.

The rules state that a Small or Medium creature wielding a reach weapon threatens at 10' but not 5'; and that a Large creature wielding a reach weapon of appropriate size threatens at 15' and 20', but not 5' or 10'.

Notice how the 'of appropriate size' is only mentioned in reference to Large creatures.

Which makes sense, really - if a halfling (5' reach) can reach ten feet away with his longspear, a human (5' reach) must be able to do the same. But just because a human (5' reach) can reach ten feet with his longspear, it doesn't mean an ogre (10' reach) can reach twenty...

-Hyp.
 

The Spiked Chain Book by EN says you can wield a spiked chain as per the rules presented in the PHB or as a double-weapon. this reduces your reach to 5' though and stages damage down to 1D6. Furthermore, it takes a move action to switch modes, just like drawing a weapon.

Malakh Singh a.k.a. Dick Chainy
 




Remove ads

Top