Do Horn of Valhalla-summoned barbarians sleep?

Aust Diamondew said:
As a side not if they were constructs I don't think their saves, HD, BAB or anything else (other that con. mod. to HP and the immunities associated with being a construct) would change. Other wise a humanoid (human) barbarian would have medium BAB, d8 HD and 2+int skills. Likewise if a construct were to take a level in barbarian it would gain +1 BAB, +2 Fort, d12 HD etc...

Actually, the rules state that a humanoids with one Hit Dice or less replace their humanoid levels with class levels if they take a class.

They also say that a construct would use multiclassing rules to add class levels, so it wouldn't replace it's construct HD with barbarian levels.

This is actually a compelling reason to say that the barbarians summoned by the horn are not Constructs. If they were, they'd have to convert all their barbarian levels to construct HD, removing all their class abilities.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The main reason I was wondering was the ambiguous wording in the item description left me unsure if they were as vulnerable to certain spells and effects, sleep being just the most obvious, but also charm/compulsions, poisons, cure spells etc etc. Since they stick around fo an hour, you could summon them and tell them to guard a room. If someone else happens upon them and casts Charm Person on one, what should happen? Likewise, the description states that all of the summoned barbarians come equiped with the basic starting gear given in the PHB, which would seem a bit odd for a 4th level barbarian to have. Likewise, no word on what feat or skill selection would be like. Anyone want to offer any helpful suggestions?
 

I read it that they are summoned to fight, and stay either an hour, til death, or until they run out of targets to fight.

SRD said:
They attack anyone the possessor of the horn commands them to fight until they or their opponents are slain or until 1 hour has elapsed, whichever comes first.

So IMC they couldn't be used as guards.

If they are constructs, this is a much better item.

delemental said:
But the issue of what happens to the barbarians is already covered by the fact that the Horn "summons" the barbarians.
Good catch. So IYC they are construct type?
 

werk said:
Good catch. So IYC they are construct type?

No, it was mainly to point out that defining the conditions under which they vanish isn't the reason they call them constructs.

IMC they'd be human barbarians. Converting them to constructs is too much work for what should be a pretty straightforward magic item.

Perhaps the intent was to say that the barbarians aren't subject to effects that target "humanoids" or "living creatures", since they aren't. But it would have been better if they'd just said that, rather than calling the barbarians 'constructs'.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top