log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Does a character holding a missile weapon get an OA attack?

auburn2

Adventurer
The rules for AOO states you can make a melee opportunity attack when a hostile creature moves out of reach. It does not specify that you need to be holding or use a melee weapon for this attack.

So if you are holding a bow can you hit someone with it as an improvised weapon, or alternatively make an unarmed attack by kicking the enemy when he moves out of your reach?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You always have unarmed attack, which doesn't even require a free hand (kick, headbutt, etc.). You could use a ranged weapon as an improvised weapon, but that could theoretically damage it (DM judgement).
 

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top