Does the Earthroot staff affect "sleep" like powers?

Stalker0

Legend
My wizard was utilizing the earthroot staff to get a -3 penalty to my saving throws against his sleep effect. He noted its an attack that causes the slowed condition, even though when I'm saving I'm saving against helplessness.

Reading the rules, the staff says it gives the penalties to "attacks that impose the slowed, immobilized...etc etc".

Which would seem to indicate that he's right, the staff does effect the sleep spell.

Is there any more info about this one I don't know about?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would argue that it is implied in the way the sentence is structured that the penalty applies to saving versus the conditions listed. Not other conditions also imposed by the spell.

So the penalty would apply to the Slowed condition from Sleep, increasing chance of failure.

Then the unconcious condition applies, which is not covered by the staff..
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top