Does True Strike let you sneak attack a concealed opponent?

Yes, the spell descriptions in 3.0 and 3.5 are fundamentally the same, so that FAQ entry apply. Makes sense, too. Good spot, Liquidsabre.

3.0 SRD: The character's next single attack roll (if it is made before the end of the next round) gains a +20 insight bonus. Additionally, the character is not affected by the miss chance that applies to attacks against a concealed target.

3.5 SRD: Your next single attack roll (if it is made before the end of the next round) gains a +20 insight bonus. Additionally, you are not affected by the miss chance that applies to attackers trying to strike a concealed target.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Since the parts of the 3.0 FAQ are suppose to be still valid for the rules that weren;t changed, apparently this is the correct ruling for the use of truestrike spell and sneak attackign an opponent with concealment, heh.

Ah, but 3.5 also has that lovely gem, the Primary Source Rule. The 3.0 FAQ does not agree with the text (since the text does not say concealment is negated). Considering this, I'd still rule no sneak attack (in 3.5). One of the reasons that I really love the PSR is that it means that I don't have to go searching through every single friggin' document on the WOTC site to make sure I have the most correct ruling.

Now, if someone could come up with an official statement that anytime the effect of some condition is completely negated, the condition is negated (like the way damage reduction works, and like the FAQ ruling seems to imply), I would agree with the FAQ.
 
Last edited:

You quote the DMG 3.5 Errata Rule: Primary Source, which involves the disagreement between two D&D rules.

Note, that this is not the case in this situation as we do not have two rules that disagree, so primary source is not relevant here. What we have is a spell that is vague as to the full use of the spell when considering sneak attacks and concealment.

Going to the FAQ we find the proper clarification for the interaction of the spell and sneak attack. The 3.0 FAQ applies when rules haven't changed, since the spell hasn't changed we see from the FAQ the correct way to use the spell with concealment/sneak attack rules.
 

Remove ads

Top