WayneLigon
Adventurer
Herremann the Wise said:It was a Demilich construct type thing (not exactly sure of the specs) that was immune to all magical effects - although it used it's own magic.
Does the creature actually say that? 'Immune to all magical effects'? If so, then the orb wouldn't work on it. It's a magical effect. Spells, spell-like abilities, supernatural abilities, Magic weapons, things with buffs on them like 'enchanted weapon', etc; all those are 'magical effects'.
The Golem thing? Not a problem. It says 'spells' and thus it means 'spells', not magic weapons or supernatual abilities, etc. That's what I like about 3.5. It means what it says and says what it means. Unless some errata disputes that.