Dropping a weapon in the middle of an attack

MarkB said:
Given that you could drop a weapon and Quickdraw another in the middle of a full attack, I'd say that technically you could do the same to free up a natural weapon. The fact that your weapon is now on the floor is penalty enough for that.

Yeah, I'd have to agree on this point... though I'm sure there's a crazy build out there with gloves of storing and claws of the beast that could take full advantage of it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

MarkB said:
Given that you could drop a weapon and Quickdraw another in the middle of a full attack, I'd say that technically you could do the same to free up a natural weapon. The fact that your weapon is now on the floor is penalty enough for that.
A lot of people play that letting go of something is a free action, as is switching from a 1H to 2H grip. I don't know if you do that, but if so then does that mean a lizardman could make a full attack with a greatsword, let go with one hand and claw, regrip, let go the other hand and claw, and regrip to be ready for the next round?
 

jaelis said:
A lot of people play that letting go of something is a free action, as is switching from a 1H to 2H grip. I don't know if you do that, but if so then does that mean a lizardman could make a full attack with a greatsword, let go with one hand and claw, regrip, let go the other hand and claw, and regrip to be ready for the next round?

If you look at the SRD, dropping an item is explicitly a useable action, but nowhere is "regripping" listed.
 

jaelis said:
A lot of people play that letting go of something is a free action, as is switching from a 1H to 2H grip.

Skip Williams called it a free action in the 3E Main FAQ. Then Andy Collins called it a move action in the 3.5 Main FAQ. Then Skip Williams called it a free action again in the Rules of the Game.

-Hyp.
 

sukael said:
If you look at the SRD, dropping an item is explicitly a useable action, but nowhere is "regripping" listed.
It would be a bit strange to claim that it is not possible to do this at all. But it is true that the rules don't say what kind of an action it is... it could be taken as a free action, as equivalent to drawing the weapon, or as a move action. I know lots of people and have read other posters who play it is a free action... I have no reason to think they are a majority, but it is not uncommon.

Even if you play it is equivalent to drawing a weapon (which seems the best supported answer to me), then a person with quickdraw could still do the trick I described.

Skip Williams called it a free action in the 3E Main FAQ. Then Andy Collins called it a move action in the 3.5 Main FAQ. Then Skip Williams called it a free action again in the Rules of the Game.
So we can add Skip to the list of people who play that way :)
 

sukael said:
If you look at the SRD, dropping an item is explicitly a useable action, but nowhere is "regripping" listed.

Hhhmmm, then what happens to a double weapon that is used as 2H weapon at one stage then as a double weapon next stage? What is the time required between stages?

Could it be changed between rounds for an AoO for example?

I'm inclined to house rule that it is free only if it is done at the start of your action (so no changing from double wpn to 2H wpn in case of any AoOs).

Then again i've never needed to make such a ruling (or even Q the DM) for this.
 

Remove ads

Top