D&D 5E DRUID TRANSFORMATION !!

maritimo80

First Post
IF a character Druid invoke one beast with his Conjure Animal SPELL, it can can transform this beast with his ability later, as if he'd see?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Probably (as always, your DM has the final say). In general, soft limits like 'you can only assume the form of an animal you've seen,' are functionally just flavor. It keeps your druid from assuming a form inappropriate to the flavor of the campaign setting.
 



No matter what you do, you can't assume a form against the DM's wishes.

Trying to circumvent the "must have seen" restriction by summoning a polar bear (or whatever) in order to *look at it* reveals only that your DM should probably find another player.

Not a direct reply to the OP.
 

Agreed with Zapp. You have some interesting posts, OP, but it seems many questions asked here are to get backup for things happening in your game. DM decisions can (and often) circumvent the rules as written, so even if you find the facts you are looking for, your DM can swat them down, according to RAW rules about DMs :P
 

I would rule either that seeing a conjured animal isn't enough to use its shape, or even that you can't conjure animals that you haven't seen before. It hasn't come up in my games yet, so I haven't decided, but in any case, I would never allow conjured animals to be an easy out for the forms-you-have-seen restriction.

But as others have mentioned, you should really ask your DM how he rules it.
 

If it makes you feel better, OP, I would personally at least try to work out something with you, but it might require you to make important concessions. For example: Druids have a "home territory." It's written into the nature of the Land Druid. Thus, if expect you to have a particular rapport with the spirits of your homeland. Why would those spirits take the form of animals neither they nor your character have seen? Now, if you're travelling through a land far from your "home" and working for spirits unfamiliar to you, that's a horse of a different color, but it also entails spirits that don't know YOU as a result. What will they think of your druid? Are you an intruder, begrudgingly allowed in but never truly welcome? Or perhaps you were summoned, outside eyes with an outside perspective to solve a problem the local druids could not. Or perhaps there are no local druids at all, and you are the first there's been in these parts for as long as the trees can remember. Each of these situations would shape (no pun intended) the way the spirits treated your char and what forms they would take. In some, I'd argue that unfamiliarity or even hostility would get in the way; in others, the spirits might want your char to maintain their perspective "distance" and would fear letting you take in too much of the local color. In yet others, they might do anything in their power to help you. Finding the right balance between flavor, coolness, and the rules might be tricky, but if done well it could drive the campaign in new and unexpected directions.
 

No matter what you do, you can't assume a form against the DM's wishes.

Trying to circumvent the "must have seen" restriction by summoning a polar bear (or whatever) in order to *look at it* reveals only that your DM should probably find another player.

In our game, the Druid gets random creatures. Conjure Animals does not state that the Druid gets the exact animals he wants, so in order to cast it to get the chance to "look at it" could mean casting the spell a lot, at least at our table.

As is, Conjure Animals is powerful. Allowing the player to pick the exact perfect creature to summon makes it even more powerful. The player of our Druid suggested this house rule himself and he now rarely tries to conjure CR 1/4 Wolves for Pack Tactics, instead he picks a lot of different CRs based on how many creatures he wants.
 

Remove ads

Top