Dual Wand Fighting

I wouldn't allow it unless they are hasted (with 3.0 haste).

I would allow them to cast two spells from the same wand if they were hasted.

If you really want to let them do this without haste, I would require the crafter of the wand to prepare quickened versions of the spells when making the wand if they wanted to be able to use more than one wand per round. Since you can only cast one quickened spell per round with the Quicken Spell feat, I would only allow one quickened wand to be used per round in addition to a non-quickened wand.

In a nutshell, subject spells in wands to the same casting requirements as any other spell.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Nifft said:
IMC, I nerfed Haste so that, while it did grant an extra partial action, you could still only cast one spell and use a spell-trigger item once per round. Thus, you can cast a spell AND use a wand, or use two wands, but you can't use the same wand twice per round.
I nerfed it even more: only one "magic" action per round, including spellcasting and activating magic items.
 

I agree, the only way this would work is with a quickened wand or 3.0E Haste.


JChung2003 said:
I wouldn't allow it unless they are hasted (with 3.0 haste).

I would allow them to cast two spells from the same wand if they were hasted.

If you really want to let them do this without haste, I would require the crafter of the wand to prepare quickened versions of the spells when making the wand if they wanted to be able to use more than one wand per round. Since you can only cast one quickened spell per round with the Quicken Spell feat, I would only allow one quickened wand to be used per round in addition to a non-quickened wand.

In a nutshell, subject spells in wands to the same casting requirements as any other spell.
 


You are correct, If you want a 1st or higher level spell quickened you would have to do it with a staff.

Hypersmurf said:
And of course, a Quickened Wand can contain... Ray of Frost.

21,000gp for 50 charges of 1d3 cold damage?

Eech.

-Hyp.
 

Well, may as well give dual wand casting a shot, myself...

Dual Wands
You can activate two wands at once.
Prereqs: Combat Casting, Craft Wand, 10+ Spellcraft ranks
Benifits: As a full round action you can activate two spell-trigger items at once. Each is drained of 1d4 charges and functions at only 1/2 of it's original caster level (rounded up) for determing effects, range and similar.
 


A high level incantatrix can make a wand with a Quickened first level spell.

Are you sure about that?

I thought there was a ruling somewhere that class features or other abilities that reduce Metamagic levels don't affect its level for item storage purposes.

Otherwise you'd use a Metamagic Rod for all sorts of Wand nastiness.

-Hyp.
 

Well, the best thought on that would be to possibly take a "house" feat like...er....Wand fighter...

Prerequisite - Int 16+, Dex 13+, Quick Draw
Bonus - Ability to use a wand as a free action, but to a maximum of only once per round. This enables you to use 2 wands in one round, at only the price of a standard action.
Normal - You may only use one wand per round.
 


Remove ads

Top