Duskblade - Channel Spell + Holding the Charge

The level 3 ability is completely separate from the level 13 ability. It's just similar. So, no, the ability doesn't get worse at level 13; rather, you get two abilities.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DreadArchon said:
The level 3 ability is completely separate from the level 13 ability. It's just similar. So, no, the ability doesn't get worse at level 13; rather, you get two abilities.
So you declare which ability you are using? Do you say " I will use Arcane Channeling"? oh, both abilities have the same name.
 

The FAQ update for today addresses a bunch of this...

FAQ said:
When a duskblade (Player’s Handbook II, 20) uses
arcane channeling to deliver a spell but misses with the
weapon attack, is the spell discharged or can he try to
deliver the spell again on his next turn?
This follows the normal rule for touch spells; that is, a
melee touch spell that misses its target is not discharged.
However, when using the improved version of this class
feature gained at 13th level, the spell is discharged at the end of
the round regardless of whether you hit or not (as described on
page 20).
 

TheGogmagog said:
So you declare which ability you are using? Do you say " I will use Arcane Channeling"? oh, both abilities have the same name.
So? They're different action types. You declare which you're using. Besides, the difference is clear: You can't use the level 13 version for a single strike or a standard action, and you can't use the level 3 version for a full-round action or multiple strikes. There is no "my first attack is channeled, in case I miss, and the rest are un-channeled." If you make multiple strikes, you can't channel except as the level 13 ability.

Related, though: Sudden Maximize on the spell at level 13 makes all enemies hit affected as by a maximized spell, yes?
 

Remove ads

Top