Duskblade gets combat casting, then invokes that whenever damaged. Totally wrong, but I can't find rules to counter it.

aboyd

Explorer
I have a friend playing a Duskblade. He got Combat Casting at level 2. That gives him a +4 to concentration when casting defensively.

So, he cast next to a dire rat, the rat got an AOO, and hit for 4 or 5 points of damage. This causes a concentration check. The whole table of players says "Hey, you get +4 because of your new combat casting feat." I say no, because combat casting only applies to casting defensively. They counter that it says right in the listed for the ability that it's +4 to concentration (they're right, it does say that) and that even if it does only apply when casting defensively, that casting defensively isn't an action and is automatically what happens when an attack is incoming.

I'm a rules lawyer, told them all they were wrong, but now the game is over and I'm looking it up, and I cannot find *anything* that says that you have to declare casting defensively. I can't find anything that would inhibit a spellcaster from using it after damage is incoming. There is no stated order of actions anywhere that I can see.

Is anyone aware of any official errata, FAQ, or anything that clears it up and spells it out very deliberately? I need it super-super clear for these players, and it needs to expressly state that it must be pre-declared, and hopefully this comes from any official source.

Any ideas, anyone?

Last edited:

Nagol

Unimportant
Defensive casting is a non-action option for casting a spell in combat. It needs to be declared because it affects what actions others can take in response (by removing their option to respond to an opportunity).

The default option for casting a spell allows opponents an attack of opportunity. Defensive casting preempts the AoO but requires a Concentration check to work.

from the SRD "Actions in Combat" page said:
Attacks of Opportunity