Duskblade with a spellbook

Omegaxicor

First Post
This may sound very bizarre but bare with me (I am using 3.5 rules FYI)

One of my players has asked if he plays a Duskblade and carries a spellbook he has found (I have no idea where he got it but it counts against his WPL if he does) he can:-

1) Use UMD to cast any spell within (assuming he has deciphered it) with a DC of 20+spell level
2) Use UMD to channel the spell into his sword by Arcane Channeling

and assuming he takes Spellsword PrC

3) Use UMD to store a spell in his sword using Channel Spell

Now I think 1) is correct but I am unsure about 2)&3). I think he wants to use the spell book as a book of scrolls and I am inclined to agree with that assessment

any advice?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Can't do it.

A spellbook (in 3.x) can no longer be used to cast spells (like it was in earlier editions). It is a note book not a spell ready for casting (like a scroll is).

From the FAQ

Can a wizard cast a spell directly from his spellbook? If so what effects on the spellbook are there?

No, you cannot use a spellbook like a scroll. A spellbook contains notes for preparing a spell, but it’s not a precast spell just waiting to be activated as a scroll is.

See PHB pg 178 also
 

I can't see anything about that in the PHB but it kinda makes sense...

I don't really understand why that is (except to prevent everyone from carrying around a book of scrolls as my player intends)

The magical writing explain how to draw in the energy (whatever it is) and direct it in the form of the spell (a projectile in the case of Magic Missile and Fireball), but if you have deciphered the Wizards writing then you can perform the somatic, verbal and, if necessary, material components...why can't you use the Spellbook to cast spells (providing you have appropriate spell slots left)
 

1) Use UMD to cast any spell within (assuming he has deciphered it) with a DC of 20+spell level
I don't think this works. Otherwise anyone with a decent UMD could cast spells out of a Wizard's spellbook, at any level, with no limit, or with the limit of using the pages as scrolls (Depending on interpretation) and then burning out the spellbook.

a fifth level Rogue with a ton of UMD skill-boosting items chucking level 9 spells around, because he can. Not happening.
 

A scroll is a magic item that has infused magical properties of its own so that those who can read it and use as such through UMD can "cast" the spell. A spell book doesn't have any of that. All a spell book is notes on how a true cast version of the spell works. In other words he can't necessarily use them if the spells are to high of a level that he can cast as he has to use his own magical capability to power it. It can expand his spell list in which he derives spells known as a Duskblade if he can understand it, but he is still restricted by what he can cast.
 


(Important bit is right at the bottom, but I'll say it here for emphasis):
Only Wizards can use Wizards' spellbooks to cast spells. If you need any in-game reason for that, I'm asking you if you also need an in-game reason why gravity works the way it does, or why Potions only hold up to 3rd level spells, or why Monks are weaker than many other classes.


I can't see anything about that in the PHB but it kinda makes sense...

I don't really understand why that is (except to prevent everyone from carrying around a book of scrolls as my player intends)

The magical writing explain how to draw in the energy (whatever it is) and direct it in the form of the spell (a projectile in the case of Magic Missile and Fireball), but if you have deciphered the Wizards writing then you can perform the somatic, verbal and, if necessary, material components...


The magical writing doesn't do any of these. Where do you get the idea? Or maybe it does, but there's no proof. There's a bunch of things a spellbook might be imagined to do, but the rules give us no clues as to what that might me in a concrete sense.

Maybe this:
It's the wizard who fills in the blanks after making sure (a.k.a. memorizing) how he personally will go about manipulating the arcane power flows, which are the only thing described in the spellbook.

Or: A highly complex drawing/diagram/mandala/table contains a plethora of information that make up certain aspects of a spell, in a highly symbolic, encrypted form. The wizard has to memorize every facet of the drawing/etc., after which he is able to draw on the memory. When he does so, and without his doing anything else, cosmic forces make him perform gestures and say words, and an effect comes into being.

Or: the spellbooks contains shorthand versions of stuff a wizard learned when he frequented the academy, made up in a format that is very personal to him, and him only. Using these shorthand reminders, bits of innuendo, nudges in the right direction, a wizard can puzzle out a little facet of how the universe works, but the knowledge is so hard to grasp (let alone without proper wizard training!) that it's highly unstable, vanishing from his mind the moment he tries to get a concrete grasp of what it means (i.e., casts a spell).


why can't you use the Spellbook to cast spells (providing you have appropriate spell slots left)

Rules-y answer: Because you're not a Wizard. End of story.

In-game answer: make one up. It doesn't really matter. As long as somebody ain't a wizard, they can't use a spellbook to cast spells. If they are wizards, they can only use a spellbook to cast spells they could cast within the rules (appropriate level, Int score, not from a banned school etc.).
 

If this is true, than a Duskblade with a spellbook is still a potent option.
He can't create one though, so he is really dependent at what the DM will drop. However, how he got it in the first place is still mystery. Plus, there is still the possibility of in cahoots with a wizard, though that might be just good teamwork.
 


He can't create one though, so he is really dependent at what the DM will drop. However, how he got it in the first place is still mystery. Plus, there is still the possibility of in cahoots with a wizard, though that might be just good teamwork.
I get that this would be situation specific, I'm just seeing the possibilities for use. Is this RAW?
Defeating a wizard villain would then be very profitable. Always want to loot the spellbook.
 

Remove ads

Top