easy question, concentration checks

Tatsukun

Danjin Masutaa
Hi all, I have a simple question, but I can't seem to find a reference in the books.

If a mage is standing between two bad guys, and casts a spell, he draws two attacks of oppurtunity. Let's say both hit. The first one does 5 points and the second one does 8.

Does the mage make two concentration checks (DC's 20 and 23) or one counting all the damage (DC 28)?

-T
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Tatsukun said:
Does the mage make two concentration checks (DC's 20 and 23) or one counting all the damage (DC 28)?

-T
The player gets pimp slapped by the other players for not casting on the defensive, or rolling a one, whichever the case may be :p

Nahh, I had a quick look at the rules and I'm not 100% sure to be totally honest, but personally I would say two checks as the damage comes from two seperate sources.
 



mikebr99 said:
I'll say, one bigger concentration check, as both hits are happening at the exact same time.


Mike

They aren't happening at the exact same time, though. It's already a stretch of the imagination to believe that a dozen people can each take a 6-second turn all in the same 6 seconds, but to believe that two people in the middle of combat could synchronize their strikes exactly with each other without any prior planning is beyond believable.

There's two rolls being made, and therefore the two attacks are separate.

Therefore, you'd make two concentration checks from two separate attacks.
 

UltimaGabe said:
They aren't happening at the exact same time, though. It's already a stretch of the imagination to believe that a dozen people can each take a 6-second turn all in the same 6 seconds, but to believe that two people in the middle of combat could synchronize their strikes exactly with each other without any prior planning is beyond believable.

There's two rolls being made, and therefore the two attacks are separate.

Therefore, you'd make two concentration checks from two separate attacks.
Both attacks were triggered as an AoO from casting. An AoO interrupts that action which provoked it.

The Mage tried (assumption here...) to cast some getaway spell, since he was where he shouldn't have been. Starting the spell, triggered 2 attacks, at really the same time in the mage's turn, the beginning of his spell. YMMV


Mike
 

Tough call in a lot of ways, but in the end I would definately go for multiple checks. It just seems to make more sense in the way that it is written (since the damage from the attacks probably isnt continuous, and they dont happen 'at the exact same time'. After all, if two characters gain an aoo each and they both want to use some special 1/day ability to hit the mage and the first one downs him, the second one doesnt have to mark off the ability, as they havent really attacked yet)
 



mikebr99 said:
Both attacks were triggered as an AoO from casting. An AoO interrupts that action which provoked it.

Of course. In fact, to expound upon that, AoO's occur before the event that occured them. Therefore, there's no question that both attacks would occur before the spell was finished.

However, to assume that both hit at the same time is absurd. I highly doubt that both attackers were standing the exact same distance away, the exact same height, with the exact same weapon and angle and speed. The attacks hit at separate times, and it would just make more sense to have the Wizard make two Concentration checks instead of one big one.
 

Remove ads

Top