Ending movement in an occupied space?

entr0py

First Post
Two questions -- basically both possible "slippery slopes" --
1) Our party's druid occasionally "accidently" summons a large nature's ally into space(s) occupied by others. Our DM has, in these situations, ruled that an immediate bullrush attempt is made by the new arrival as it attempts to clear space for itself. This has worked so far, but I forsee the possible abuse as using a Summon Spell as a fairly effective attack spell -- say, by dropping a Summon into an enemy's established front line opening a nice 10' hole in it. Perhaps this is just a smart use of the spell. It makes Druids (or any summoner type) real helpful on a battlefield. I would welcome feedback on this.
2) Secondly, as i understand it, if two entities occupy the same space, with nowhere else for either to move, one of them must go prone. Usually this is undesirable. However, enter the feat: Prone Attack (CW p.103) whats to stop a character with the feat to Drop Prone (free action), crawl (or better yet tumble) 5' and share a space with a friend (move action), and attack from prone (standard action) -- unless something else changes, two characters could continue to threaten and attack from the same space. Again feedback please.

Basically i dont see either situation as a game breaker, but i can see ALOT of use out of both tactics once they are viewed as successful.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

OK, who is planning on taking the Prone Attack feat?

Oh, and welcome to the other rowdy table. :)

And another thing, when you gonna email me with your spell recommendations?
 
Last edited:

Since the various Summon Something spells aren't designed to be used like that, I'd go with the following rule from the SRD:

Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it’s not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there’s a legal position that’s closer.

If there is indeed no room for a large summoned creature to appear, I would rule that a large summoned creature would be 'squeezing' to see if there's maybe some room for it. If even this fails to find a place for the summoned creature to appear, I'd rule it to appear prone in the desired space, but that is not covered by the rules.

~Marimmar
 

Ending your movement in an occupied square is normally not possible, you must end your movement in an unoccupied square (or 4 or 9 ...) or you cannot move that way.

You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.

Also monsters must be summoned in an unoccupied square.

I'd have the spell not work, and the monster not appear, if it is placed like that.

Like, you see it fading in, but it keeps flickering and then disappears, since it cannot occupy the same space as whatever is on its location already.

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:


I can accept that summoned creatures can't appear into occupied space, but i know of no official text that says so. If the ruling exists in print, can you point me to it?
 


entr0py said:
I can accept that summoned creatures can't appear into occupied space, but i know of no official text that says so. If the ruling exists in print, can you point me to it?
PHB, pg.172. Conjured creatures or objects "must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it". As far as I'm concerned, a space with another creature already in it is not an open location.
 


Was too quick when checking the SRD part about the Conjuration school earlier... it's in there as well.

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it. The creature or object must appear within the spell’s range, but it does not have to remain within the range.

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top