energy weapon touch attacks

Voadam

Legend
If you have an energy weapon (flaming, shock, frost etc.) can you make a touch attack to do only the energy damage?

If not, why not?

It would be a good tactic against a really high AC critter or a very high DR one.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Here's the question though:

A flaming whip. Make a ranged touch attack and deal 1d6 points of damage (or even more on a crit with a flaming burst).

This has the potential to be abused. I have always imagined that the energy bursts into being during the attack (even if some flickers across it the rest of the time) and so unless a normal attack is made, the energy isn't there to be used.

This is not, however, a rule. By the letter of the rules, I'm not sure how it goes.

DC
 

Hitting is composed of mainly 2 things: hitting your opponent and breaking through its defenses.

With a touch attack, you don't take into account the armor(s) of your opponent, since you're not trying to break through it. Nevertheless, when you're trying to make a regular attack, some of your attacks miss, and some of your attacks hit, but don't break through your opponent's armor.

If you used an energy (flaming, icy, etc.) weapon, and you hit your opponent, but not enough to break through its armor, you don't deal energy damage. That's why i think you shouldn't be able to do touch attacks with your energy weapon.

Maitre D
 

Voadam said:
If you have an energy weapon (flaming, shock, frost etc.) can you make a touch attack to do only the energy damage?

No. The various energy weapons refer to bonus damage "on a successful hit", which must be interpreted as a normal hit (if it's "bonus damage", then it must be in addition to "regular damage"). There is no exception or allowance anywhere in the rules for using the energy in a different fashion.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top