evermind
First Post
I am facing a conundrum here - I have a player pretty fond of both Enervation and Magic Jar spells.
A) He intends to take over target bodies by Enervating the target first (imposing a nice penalty to the target's save against that), then taking over the body through Magic Jar. so far, so good...
As that particular question was passed through this forum a few weeks ago, the consenting opinion was, that negative levels were imposed on the life force inhabiting a body, not the (purely corporeal) body itself.
If that holds true, it would mean, the problematic negative levels imposed through Enervation would be gone from the host body when the character successfull "magic jars" it, since they should be linked to the original lifeforce currently forced out of the body. he would hence get use of the body at full capability
B) If it were not true, how would spells like Enervation, Dominate Person/Monster, Charm etc. affect a host + inhabiting lifeforce combo ? Do they affect only the inhabiting lifeforce or rather the corporeal body ? Both ? How would that affect the original lifeforce when it gets chucked back into the body ?
C) How about an inhabiting lifeforce immune to an effect (like say charms if the possessor/magic Jar'er is undead ) while the body is not ? Or vice versa - say a humanoid in a native outsider body getting hit by Dominate Person ?
Thanks for the input... and now bring on the rule-masters, please
A) He intends to take over target bodies by Enervating the target first (imposing a nice penalty to the target's save against that), then taking over the body through Magic Jar. so far, so good...
As that particular question was passed through this forum a few weeks ago, the consenting opinion was, that negative levels were imposed on the life force inhabiting a body, not the (purely corporeal) body itself.
If that holds true, it would mean, the problematic negative levels imposed through Enervation would be gone from the host body when the character successfull "magic jars" it, since they should be linked to the original lifeforce currently forced out of the body. he would hence get use of the body at full capability
B) If it were not true, how would spells like Enervation, Dominate Person/Monster, Charm etc. affect a host + inhabiting lifeforce combo ? Do they affect only the inhabiting lifeforce or rather the corporeal body ? Both ? How would that affect the original lifeforce when it gets chucked back into the body ?
C) How about an inhabiting lifeforce immune to an effect (like say charms if the possessor/magic Jar'er is undead ) while the body is not ? Or vice versa - say a humanoid in a native outsider body getting hit by Dominate Person ?
Thanks for the input... and now bring on the rule-masters, please
