Escaping the echo chamber...

Thanks- and I was just getting ready to post I had found it: last page of the compiled errata PDF!

About this:
Also, just to clarify my earlier statement. You can use a staff as your main implement, and still receive benefits for having your Rod of Corruption in your other hand. The rod's property has nothing to do with attacking, so even if you're using your staff to attack, you can still activate the property on Rod of Corruption.

The Rod does give an Att/Dam bonus as well as a crit boost. I'm assuming that if another implement did likewise, I could only get the Att/Dam/crit bonuses for one, right? Can I mix & match?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Rod does give an Att/Dam bonus as well as a crit boost. I'm assuming that if another implement did likewise, I could only get the Att/Dam/crit bonuses for one, right? Can I mix & match?

Ah, I was talking about the property on the rod exclusively. Enhancement bonus and crit damage is only drawn from the implement you used to make the attack. The trick here to get the best of both implements, is to always attack with your staff, and just hold the rod in your off-hand.

You'll use the attack, damage and crit bonuses from the staff, but whenever you get your pact boon, you can still trigger the rod of corruption's power since its not linked to using a power with the implement. This differs from Staff Expertise, which says "When attacking with a staff..." (or something like it, I don't remember the exact wording).

This also has the benefit of only requiring you to upgrade one implement (staff) as you level up. Your rod remains just as useful at level 30 as it did at level 1.

EDIT: /facepalm
 
Last edited:

Thanks- and I was just getting ready to post I had found it: last page of the compiled errata PDF!

About this:


The Rod does give an Att/Dam bonus as well as a crit boost. I'm assuming that if another implement did likewise, I could only get the Att/Dam/crit bonuses for one, right? Can I mix & match?

You would generally only get the atk/dam/crit bonuses for one implement at a time. When you cast a spell, you choose which implement (that you are at that time wielding) to cast the spell through and thus, those bonuses apply. That being said, if you have two implements out, you can attack with one implement in round 1 and then the other in round 2. This can potentially make sense if the implement gives extra bonuses for certain types of creatures (i.e. crit +1d8 or +1d10 if against undead), etc.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top