exact casting time of wand of enlarge person

Sektat

First Post
If I use a "wand of enlarge person", at which point does the target actually grow?

There's 2 possible answers:
(1) At the end of my turn (like a sorcerer who casts a spell with duration "1 standard round" but using a metamagic feat which increases the duration to 1 round)
(2) At the beginning of my next turn (like a wizard casting enlarge person or summon monster as a spell

Plz no opinions.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hmm, why? Where does it say so? It IS different than casting the spell itself, for example there is no attack of op. and no gestures.
 

Sektat said:
Hmm, why? Where does it say so? It IS different than casting the spell itself, for example there is no attack of op. and no gestures.
Wands
Activation
Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast, however, has a longer casting time than 1 standard action, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.
 
Last edited:

Thx for your answers.

> If the spell being cast, however, has a longer casting time than 1
> standard action, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand

I know that part. This only says that the casting time is 1 round. It does not say which kind of "one round" it is. I think there are arguments for both solutions, so I am looking for rules...
 

If it takes a round, then it takes a round. Counted as a full round action. So, since you're the one casting, it happens at the beginning of your next round.

"A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed." - SRD
 

Sektat said:
I know that part. This only says that the casting time is 1 round. It does not say which kind of "one round" it is. I think there are arguments for both solutions, so I am looking for rules...

There isn't an argument. The casting time is one round. That means it takes one round to cast. Not one full-round action (such as a sorcerer casting an Empowered Magic Missile, which takes a full-round action), but, rather, one round. The various Summon Monster spells, for example, have casting times of one round, and they're the perfect example for how long a one round casting is.

In other words, you begin casting it on your turn, and you finish casting it immediately before your next turn.
 


Dice4Hire said:
And remember that the enemy has a whole round of actions to disrupt your spell. That is the downside. An it is a big one.
not from a wand. Spell trigger items don't provoke AoOs, and you're not actually casting the spell. Scroll of Enlarge Person, on the other hand, does provoke, and does count as casting.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
not from a wand. Spell trigger items don't provoke AoOs, and you're not actually casting the spell.

They still have a round to disarm you of your wand, destroy your wand, grapple you, etc.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top