exact casting time of wand of enlarge person


log in or register to remove this ad


pawsplay said:

With a wand?

"In general, if an action wouldn’t normally provoke an attack of opportunity, you need not make a Concentration check to avoid being distracted."

Using a wand doesn't provoke an AoO, and there's nothing in the description of Wands or the Spell Trigger Activation Method to indicate Concentration checks are required...?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
With a wand?

"In general, if an action wouldn’t normally provoke an attack of opportunity, you need not make a Concentration check to avoid being distracted."

Using a wand doesn't provoke an AoO, and there's nothing in the description of Wands or the Spell Trigger Activation Method to indicate Concentration checks are required...?

-Hyp.

The concentration check is for being damaged during an action that requires concentration, not for using an ability that triggers an AoO or that normally requires a Concentration check. Casting a full round spell defensively doesn't draw an AoO, either.
 


Hypersmurf said:
Right.

And using a wand isn't an action that requires concentration.

-Hyp.

Last I checked, casting a spell could be interrupted, wand or no. I believe using a wand is an action that requires concentration, because it is like casting a spell in most respects, and casting a spell does.
 

pawsplay said:
Last I checked, casting a spell could be interrupted, wand or no. I believe using a wand is an action that requires concentration, because it is like casting a spell in most respects, and casting a spell does.

The description for scrolls states "Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be." The description for wands has no such note.

The skill description for Concentration indicates that an action that requires concentration, in general, is one that provokes an AoO. Using a wand does not provoke an AoO, implying it is not an action that requires concentration.

-Hyp.
 

pawsplay said:
Last I checked, casting a spell could be interrupted, wand or no. I believe using a wand is an action that requires concentration, because it is like casting a spell in most respects, and casting a spell does.

Hyp's right, there is no concentration requirement for Wands. If it helps your imagination, wands are "spell trigger" items and the dmg/srd says "Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken."

In other words, casting from a wand is simpler that swinging a sword, and though it may take a while for the spell to be successfully triggered, the "caster" doesn't need to concentrate - just damaging him/her isn't enough to disrupt the casting. I'm curious though, if I wanted to counter such a spell, could I do so at any time during that full round?
 

eamon said:
I'm curious though, if I wanted to counter such a spell, could I do so at any time during that full round?

I've asked this question before- and I don't think it has a RAW answer. The rules aren't too clear on counterspelling spells from items.

As for someone actually casting the spell, however, the answer is yes, as far as I know. It can be countered at any point during the casting.
 

UltimaGabe said:
I've asked this question before- and I don't think it has a RAW answer. The rules aren't too clear on counterspelling spells from items.

As for someone actually casting the spell, however, the answer is yes, as far as I know. It can be countered at any point during the casting.
Only way to keep someone from casting a spell from a wand is to take it away from them or cause them some condition that would keep them from completing the action, such as stun, daze, sleep, dead, etc. Actually, does it say you can't use wands when you're dead? :p
 

Remove ads

Top