Expert Tactician and Sneak Attack

Caliban said:

I apologized when I realized that you were being so oversensitive about it. But that wasn't good enough for you. You had to whine about the apology, because it wasn't done exactly the way you wanted it. And then you keep on bringing in irrelevent side issues, like how long I've been posting.

I don't believe I've ever seen so much whining about something so trivial in my life.



And I don't believe I've ever seen someone so arrogant and self-absorbed in my entire life. Like I *said*, I'm not trying to tell anyone how to do anything. Just expressing my opinion on quality.

I keep myself civilized here, I only hope that others do the same.

In any case, I'm genuinely sorry for anything *I* might have done to cause this to degenerate to this point.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

drowdude said:


Sure thing....

Yep, it describes the effect of the feat as granting an extra melee attack against one foe. Doesnt specifically say that this effect is limited to once per round.

It states: "You may make one extra melee attack (or do anything that can be done as a melee attack or melee touch attack, including attempts to disarm, trip, or make a grab to start a grapple) against one foe who is within melee reach and denied a Dexterity bonus against your melee attacks for any reason."

You can make one melee attack against one foe. Not multiple attacks against one foe.

It doesnt say "standard action" it says "regular action" ;)

A move equivalent action is not a regular action. Only a full round action or standard action is (because those are the only actions you can normally do on your turn). A move equivalent action can be substituted for the "move" portion of a standard action, but it's not a "regular" action.
 

Caliban said:
It states: "You may make one extra melee attack (or do anything that can be done as a melee attack or melee touch attack, including attempts to disarm, trip, or make a grab to start a grapple) against one foe who is within melee reach and denied a Dexterity bonus against your melee attacks for any reason."

You can make one melee attack against one foe. Not multiple attacks against one foe.

This point is debatable whether you want it to be or not. I see all of that as describing the effect the feat has when it is triggered. Not as a limitation to how often it can be used.

Caliban said:
A move equivalent action is not a regular action. Only a full round action or standard action is (because those are the only actions you can normally do on your turn). A move equivalent action can be substituted for the "move" portion of a standard action, but it's not a "regular" action.

If you say so. But before I take your word for it, how about providing a reference to where the core rules defines what a "regular" action is.
 


I found this clarification in the Living Greyhawk Living City Campaign Song and Silence Document:
[Clarification] This feat is triggered by a very specific set of conditions, and all conditions must be met for this feat to be triggered. A foe within melee reach must be "denied a Dexterity bonus against your melee attacks." That means that the feat is not triggered when a foe is about to be denied a Dexterity bonus against a prospective attack (such as following a successful feint), nor is it triggered when a foe was denied a Dexterity bonus but is not longer so denied (such as following the attack after a successful feint). For this feat to be triggered, the foe must already be denied its Dexterity bonus and that denial must not have ended by the time the character takes the partial action granted by this feat.
This text, although not official, makes it sound like QttE and ET cannot be used together.

/ds
 

Caliban said:


Apology accepted.

And I apologize for starting the whole thing.


Son of a...................

:eek: WOW. For those of you watching, just remember: Most people on the internet aren't this big. They would grab the offered apology and scurry into the night.

Caliban rocks. Let peace endure. :D :D :D


Edit - and I take back the whole arrogant and self absorbed thing. That was just another shot to fire, and not appropriate with the olive branch of peace.
 
Last edited:

IceBear said:
It's a nice idea, and I'm sure they'll get closer and closer, but nothing in this world is 100%.

IceBear


Well, shows what you know. As the voices in my head have clearly stated, I'm 100% perfect.

sheesh, some people.
 

doktorstick said:
I found this clarification in the Living Greyhawk Living City Campaign Song and Silence Document: This text, although not official, makes it sound like QttE and ET cannot be used together.

/ds

One could say that it makes it sound like ET cannot be used at all.

But one would just be building more arguments then. :D
 

drowdude said:


This point is debatable whether you want it to be or not. I see all of that as describing the effect the feat has when it is triggered. Not as a limitation to how often it can be used.

Why do some people always insist on trying to turn the Expert Tactician feat into the "I can make oodles of free sneak attacks in a round" feat?

The Sage notwithstanding, I don't think it's possible to trigger the feat more than once per turn.

If you say so. But before I take your word for it, how about providing a reference to where the core rules defines what a "regular" action is.

You don't need to take my word for it:

From www.dictionary.com :

reg·u·lar ( P ) Pronunciation Key (rgy-lr)
adj.
Customary, usual, or normal: the train's regular schedule.

Regular means "normal". Normally, you can only make a Full Round Action or Standard action on your turn.

Before you want to use "regular action" to mean anything other than "the actions you can normally take" , you will need to show me where it defines "regular" as something other than "normal".
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top