Expert Tactician and Sneak Attack

drowdude said:
It allows it if you view "regular action" as meaning an action you can normally take in a round, such as a move-equivalent or attack action.
I don't buy it. All things you can do in a round are "actions" be them move-equivalent, partial, free, etc. Why add that extra wording if you can take the ET action after you cough? They call it rules-lawyering for a reason I guess. And interpreting "regular" as widely as you do is more of the litigious variety of lawyering.

/ds
 

log in or register to remove this ad

doktorstick said:
I don't buy it.

Never said you had to.

doktorstick said:
All things you can do in a round are "actions" be them move-equivalent, partial, free, etc.

Exactly. As far as rule definitions go, there is no such thing as a "regular action". Thus you must interpret what that means within the confines of the game's rules, one way or another.

Thats the problem with both of these feats... both can be quite potent, and neither is worded well enough to end discussions such as these.

But having said all that, what really matters is whether or not the combination breaks the game in some way. So far I havent seen that it has.
 

drowdude said:

But having said all that, what really matters is whether or not the combination breaks the game in some way. So far I havent seen that it has.

*SHUDDER*


What was that? It felt as if the ghosts of a thousand creatures, lead by the voice of a Mature Adult White Dragon, cried out in protest, and were silenced.


Must have been nothing...............;)
 

Mulkhoran said:


*SHUDDER*


What was that? It felt as if the ghosts of a thousand creatures, lead by the voice of a Mature Adult White Dragon, cried out in protest, and were silenced.


Must have been nothing...............;)


I didnt hear anything... must have been your imagination ;)

(( Besides, it's not *my* fault that the dragon was incompetent :D ))
 
Last edited:


drowdude said:


It allows it if you view "regular action" as meaning an action you can normally take in a round, such as a move-equivalent or attack action.


I do not think that is a reasonable interpretation of regular action. It says "your regular action", not "any of your regular actions". It's singular, which means it's referring to a single normal action.

Under the core rules, you can normally only take a single action per round, and that is a Standard Action or a Full Round Action. Every other action is a subset of one of those two, and is thus not a "normal" action.

That would allow the combo he suggets in his response.

Unless he explains it better than he did, I simply don't accept it. As I said, I e-mailed him specifically on this issue, and his only response was that Expert Tactician wasn't triggered twice. Since it seems clear that is was triggered twice, I can only conclude that he really didn't read my question, or didn't bother to look up the answer he gave in Sage Advice before replying to me.

In either case, despite my normal respect for the Sage, enough doubt has been raised that I can't accept his answer for this issue. I generally accept the Sage's responses, but I will not do so blindly, especially when he contradicts himself like that.
 



:;sigh::

I have to agree w/caliban. (And for the record I couldn't care less how long he has been around if that gets brought up). But he is right. You are argumentative mulkhorane Someone insulted you or didn't respect your opinion on a message board! The audacity! Give me a fkn break man. Get over that mick mouse topic. Argue about the text of the feat fine, not whaaa he insulted me over and over, its redundant.
 

And to think I started all this mess just by asking if Sneak Attack damage would be taken into account with ET. And as far as the ET and QttE combination, I will have to go with the offical FAQ I got off of Wizards website. I quoted it above. Whether or not the person answering the question read the feats 100 times or not, it is the most offical thing that I have seen.
 

Remove ads

Top