D&D 5E Extra Attack class feature with attack Cantrips

CorrEliLalis

First Post
[3D][/3D]My question is if a Cantrip requires an attack roll & is basically a normal attack for a character, would that stack with the extra attack feature if a player multiclassed or took the feat Magic Initiate? Would the character be able to use the two attack actions a round to cast two offensive Cantrips like shocking grasp or eldritch blast?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. Extra Attack applies when you use the Attack action, but casting a spell is a Cast a Spell action, even if that spell involves an attack roll.
 


My question is if a Cantrip requires an attack roll & is basically a normal attack for a character, would that stack with the extra attack feature if a player multiclassed or took the feat Magic Initiate? Would the character be able to use the two attack actions a round to cast two offensive Cantrips like shocking grasp or eldritch blast?
Short answer: No.

Long answer: The Attack action is not the same thing as an attack. An attack is any time you make an attack roll. The Attack action is a specific action, detailed in the combat rules, which allows you to make one weapon attack or unarmed attack. It does not allow you to cast a spell. That requires a different action, the Cast a Spell action.

When you get Extra Attack, the Attack action is boosted: Now it allows you to make two weapon or unarmed attacks. If you make an attack by any means other than the Attack action (casting a spell with an attack roll, making an opportunity attack, bonus attack from two-weapon fighting, etc.), Extra Attack doesn't do anything.
 

Remove ads

Top