FAQ Corrected (and errors collected)

Artoomis

First Post
See page 15:

It used to say "• Acid and sonic attacks ignore hardness."

It now says: "• Hardness applies to acid and sonic attacks."

Page 55 also has added:
"Hardness applies to all types of damage unless specifically
stated otherwise by the effect. (Page 165 in the Player’s
Handbook is sometimes misinterpreted to suggest that hardness
doesn’t apply to acid and sonic damage; in fact, the phrase
“apply [damage] normally after a successful hit” simply means
that the damage isn’t halved or quartered, as other energy
damage is.)"

Whoopee!

As far as I know, that was the only actual error (it contradicted both the rules and another FAQ entry) in the FAQ. Note that they did not change the page 19 answer on two- and one-handed weapons, but that answer really only refers to the combat rules, not equipment ruels, so it's not really as much of a problem as some think it is when taken in the context in which it was given.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad





dcollins said:
That's cool.

At the same time, they inserted another explicit contradiction about "can you alter self into a templated creature", as discussed here: http://www.enworld.org/showthread.php?t=156488

EDIT: Guess that's alter self, not polymorph.

This appears to be a rule change/clarification.

In other words, errata published in the FAQ. <sigh> Now we have to decide did they REALLY mean to change Alter Self or was this just an errror?

However, this (polymorph) is being discussed in that other thread, so let's no re-hash here, okay?
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
As far as I know, that was the only actual error (it contradicted both the rules and another FAQ entry) in the FAQ.
Don't break out the bubbly just yet. They managed to work another one in with this latest update: something about being able to damage Evard's black tentacles. <sigh> Wouldn't it be a good idea to have someone proofread or fact-check the FAQ before they release it?
 

Peter Gibbons said:
Don't break out the bubbly just yet. They managed to work another one in with this latest update: something about being able to damage Evard's black tentacles. <sigh>
You mean this (throw-away) reference to EBT?

Updated_but_Error_filled_FAQ said:
Although they are not creatures, the dancing chains take
damage from spells as though they were (in much the same
way that Evard’s black tentacles or the various Bigby’s hands
do).
 


Nail said:
The Goliath/large sized weapons error is also amusing.

What's the issue with the answer?

I notice a couple of other answers have been cleaned up. The Quick Draw question no longer mentions being able to sheathe as part of movement with BAB +1, for example, and the Pixie Rogue question has been fixed.

I'm not sure if it's this update that's fixed it, but the shapechange/HD question no longer self-contradicts.

In fact, I don't have an issue with the correctness of the answer... although had they gone into more detail, I suspect I might have :)

(It states that an Elf Wiz-17 who shapechanges into a Horned Devil uses his own 17 HD to calculate the save DCs of the devil special attacks. Which I agree with... it's just that since the formula is 10 + half racial HD + ability mod, and the elf's 17 HD are class hit dice, not racial hit dice, they don't serve to increase the DC at all...)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top