FAQ Corrected (and errors collected)


log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
What's the issue with the answer?
Uh-oh. :) If Hyp doesn't see it, maybe it's not an error. :D

Error-filled_FAQ said:
If my goliath is polymorphed* into a stone giant, can he
wield Huge weapons? What if the wizard just casts enlarge
person on him instead?
.......

(On the bright side, your now-Large character can still
wield the Large weapons he was carrying around before the
polymorph took effect, which is more than the half-orc
barbarian polymorphed into a stone giant can say.)
The half-orc barbarian would be fine, as his equipment resizes when he is polymorphed* into a stone giant. The Goliath has no special advantage here.

It would be different, of course, if the half-orc dropped his weapon before he was polymorphed.........and then picked it up to use.
 
Last edited:

Nail said:
Uh-oh. :) If Hyp doesn't see it, maybe it's not an error. :D


The half-orc barbarian would be fine, as his equipment resizes when he is polymorphed* into a stone giant. The Goliath has no special advantage here.

It would be different, of course, if the half-orc dropped his weapon before he was polymorphed.........and then picked it up to use.

Well, I am not a expert on Polymorph, but equipment does not resize, does it?

"When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional. When you revert to your true form, any objects previously melded into the new form reappear in the same location on your body they previously occupied and are once again functional. Any new items you wore in the assumed form and can’t wear in your normal form fall off and land at your feet; any that you could wear in either form or carry in a body part common to both forms at the time of reversion are still held in the same way. Any part of the body or piece of equipment that is separated from the whole reverts to its true form. "


This is as opposed to Enlarge Person:

"All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell."
 

Artoomis said:
"When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), ....."
It's in this statement, no?
 



In fact, they say if they can be worn in the new form, then you can wear them. If you are a Gnome wearing a small-sized chain shirt and Polymorph into a giant, are you capable of wearing that small-sized chain shirt?
 

Artoomis said:
Neither of those statements state or imply that equipment changes in size with your new form.
Remember, change in form includes the potential for change in size. It's inclusive, not exclusive.

IOW, there's no need to state "change in size" when you've already stated "change in form".
 

RigaMortus2 said:
In fact, they say if they can be worn in the new form, then you can wear them. If you are a Gnome wearing a small-sized chain shirt and Polymorph into a giant, are you capable of wearing that small-sized chain shirt?
So are you claiming that the gnome is now naked? After all, he can't be wearing gnomish underwear since it's too small.

I suppose we'll now start discussing shorts vs briefs. :)
 

Nail is wrong. The beneficiary of the spell can increase in size from the polymorphing effect, his stuff does not unless the stuff could do that on its own. Indecency abounds.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top