D&D General Favorite Characters

Creed2347

Villager
As the title suggests, let me know your favorite characters from PC's to NPC's you or your GM created and why. What makes them resonate with you? What was so special about them that made them stand out?
Have you ever left your usual playstyle and found you enjoy the other style too or perhaps you like it even more?

Davo3

Explorer
In AD&D, I started playing only Fighters or Fighter/Rogue MCs, because: components.

Then in college, we had two campaigns that ran Every. Single. Weekend. In one of them we could only get reincarnation, no resurrection, and so began a series of humanoid multiclassing a level of two of something, then getting reincarnated again. This character included some Dragon classes, too, and finally became a vampire NPC. I had levels in Fighter, Ranger, Monk, Rogue, Assassin, Cleric, Bounty Hunter, Jester, and others, and half a dozen racial languages.

Good times.

Salthorae

Imperial Mountain Dew Taster
One of my favorite characters back in the day of 2e was a Dwarven Specialty Priest of Vergadain. He was CN and so... much... fun.

I have had a great time in the Curse of Strahd playing a Great Old One Warlock with multiple personalities. He has three personalities and I sequester his abilities among the them. One personality commands his fighting prowess, while another the spells, and the final personality is very charismatic and social. I have a strict protocol for which personality is active, and we just have to hope we have the right personality for the current situation--often that is not the case. On top of all that, two of the personalities are looking for eachother and are always pestering the other party members about it.

"If you see Malocchio, telling him he's going to get it when I catch up with the rascal."