glass
(he, him)
Citation?KarinsDad said:The rules are written this way. Lots of people modify the rules for convenience, but this is a rules forum.
glass.
Citation?KarinsDad said:The rules are written this way. Lots of people modify the rules for convenience, but this is a rules forum.
irdeggman said:You've lost me here.
A rule for a specific circumstance is what is being talked about. That is a specific rule and it does override the general rule when it applies. In this case it applies for the specific circumstance correct?
Patryn of Elvenshae said:Then you apply the specific rules ("You may take a 5' step when using this feat.") over the general rules ("You may not both move and take a 5' step."), and allow him to take a 5' step.
IanB said:I think on this one point KarinsDad is at least sort of correct - this doesn't look to me like a case of a specific rule overwriting a general one.
It is possible that this feat is simply expanding the scope of the original 5 foot step rule to include one more circumstance when you can take one. That doesn't have to invalidate the rest of that rule.
The easiest interpretation to my mind, though, is to just rule it as extra free movement that doesn't count against you in any way. After all, it isn't like someone is going to be able to reliably abuse this to get free 5 foot steps or anything. The circumstances under which you can use it are way too specific (and somewhat dangerous as well.)
Steadfast Determination.
Endurance pre-req, Use Con instead of Wis for Will Saves.
You do not fail fortitude saves on a 1.
This feat is so nice, I'd totally take it, except my paladin doesnt have a feat free for...Endurance. Ugh.
Kerrick said:But just think.. you take Endurance, Iron Will, Steadfast Determination (which is a good feat), and Indomitable Soul, and you get...
Two saves vs. every effect that requires a Will save, at +2 PLUS your Con modifier, AND you can choose the best one! Oh, AND you never fail a Fort save on a nat 1! Just think - fighters will never fail a Will save again!![]()
I ran this by my DM, and he said, "No. I would never allow this combination." I agreed wholeheartedly. (BTW, I'm reversing my earlier opinion on IS - it's broken.)
It really makes me wonder if they playtested this stuff. I mean, you kind of expect to be able to grab feats from two or three books to make a hideous combo like this, but from the same book? Eesh.