log in or register to remove this ad

 

5E Feat that improves spell slots

TheSword

Legend
Supporter
So Rangers and Paladins are half casters, Eldritch Knights and Spell Thieves are one third casters. In keeping with a trend to abilities and feats that enable a single class character to better absorb other classes abilities (fighting styles, manouvers, cantrips for rangers/Paladins) what do you think of the following...

Spell Training
Prerequisite - spell slots from a non-full caster class
You have spent time away from martial concerns learning to hone your magical skills.
  • You can prepare one additional spell per day.
  • You gain spell slots as if you were one full caster level higher than you normally would. Your combined spell casting level after adding additional spell casting levels for this feat cannot be higher than your character level.
You can take this feat more than once.

[Edited to cap at character level]

It has always bugged me that taking a level of a spell casting class doesn’t improve spellcasting martial classes at most levels because of the fact that spellcasting slots are rounded up but multiclass levels are rounded down. Grrr.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


dnd4vr

The Smurfiest Wizard Ever!
I wouldn't allow it to be taken more than once, for one thing.

Also, only Paladins prepare spells out of the list concerned. So, you should add something about gaining an additional known spell for Rangers and the subclasses.

In an nut shell, normally when you advance from an even level to and odd level (level 2 being the exception), a Paladin gains new spells. But when you MC, it shifts so that you gain new spells instead when you go from an odd level to an even one (due to the rounding up).

If it bothers you, just make the MCing rule that you round normally (up in the case of half-casters, and up at 2 out of 3 levels for EK and AT).
 

Stalker0

Legend
So is this intended to just give more slots, or actually allow for the casters to cast higher level spells than they normally would be able to?
 

So Rangers and Paladins are half casters, Eldritch Knights and Spell Thieves are one third casters. In keeping with a trend to abilities and feats that enable a single class character to better absorb other classes abilities (fighting styles, manouvers, cantrips for rangers/Paladins) what do you think of the following...

Spell Training
Prerequisite - spell slots from a non-full caster class
You have spent time away from martial concerns learning to hone your magical skills.
  • You can prepare one additional spell per day.
  • You gain spell slots as if you were one full caster level higher than you normally would.
You can take this feat more than once.

It has always bugged me that taking a level of spells casting class doesn’t improve spellcasting martial classes at most levels because of the fact that spellcasting slots are rounded up but multiclass levels are rounded down. Grrr.
The wording could do with a bit of tightening. This would be a very nice feat for an Artificer 1/Wizard x multiclass for example.
 

dnd4vr

The Smurfiest Wizard Ever!
So is this intended to just give more slots, or actually allow for the casters to cast higher level spells than they normally would be able to?

This is only available to non-full casters as written, so no to casters casting higher level spells (unless you meant half- and one-third casters?).

This would be a very nice feat for an Artificer 1/Wizard x multiclass for example.

Also, in looking at the Artificer I noticed something off:

1601602526198.png

compared to the PHB about Paladins and Rangers:

1601602500023.png


So, since Artificers are already rounded up (which is inconsistent with half classes and should be corrected if it hasn't already been), this would be too helpful for them since it was meant to make up a deficit I thought?
 

TheSword

Legend
Supporter
This is only available to non-full casters as written, so no to casters casting higher level spells (unless you meant half- and one-third casters?).



Also, in looking at the Artificer I noticed something off:

View attachment 126873
compared to the PHB about Paladins and Rangers:

View attachment 126872

So, since Artificers are already rounded up (which is inconsistent with half classes and should be corrected if it hasn't already been), this would be too helpful for them since it was meant to make up a deficit I thought?
That is very interesting about the artificer rounding up. I wonder if that is the future of PC Multiclassing or if it is a special feature of the artificer. Difficult to say when printed at different times but perhaps Tashas will clarify.
 
Last edited:

TheSword

Legend
Supporter
So yes, the intention is it would never take a caster above the full casting equivalent character level.

Good spot on the prepared spells vs spells known (The alternate class features have messed with my head regarding spells known to the point that I functionally see it all the same)

In theory a variant human fighter could take this feat 4 times by level 9 and would be a 7th level caster, but would have effectively have given up all feats and stat increases. Feats are pretty good, it feels like giving up a lot. I don’t know how I feel about taking it multiple times. Hence the thread.
 

It has always bugged me that taking a level of spells casting class doesn’t improve spellcasting martial classes at most levels because of the fact that spellcasting slots are rounded up but multiclass levels are rounded down. Grrr.

On the flip side, they never go down, and you do get cantrips and a lot more spells known to cast with those slots, even if you dont get more slots.

An EK taking a level of Wizard at levels 4 and 5 (not affecting his spell slots) however his spells known goes from [4 spells known], to [4 plus Int plus 1], and with the [Int plus 1] coming from a wider list.

Plus he technically already gets an extra slot due to Arcane Recovery.
 

Leatherhead

Possibly a Idiot.
That is very interesting about the artificer rounding up. I wonder if that is the future of PC Multiclassing or if it is a special feature of the artificer. Difficult to say when printed at different times but perhaps Tashas will clarify.
It's a special feature of the Artificer, seeing as how they are half-casters with cantrips. They are the "Other Half" of half-casters.
 

TheSword

Legend
Supporter
On the flip side, they never go down, and you do get cantrips and a lot more spells known to cast with those slots, even if you dont get more slots.

An EK taking a level of Wizard at levels 4 and 5 (not affecting his spell slots) however his spells known goes from [4 spells known], to [4 plus Int plus 1], and with the [Int plus 1] coming from a wider list.

Plus he technically already gets an extra slot due to Arcane Recovery.
Int +1 extra spells is not to be sneered at. However it comes at a heavy price.
 

It's a special feature of the Artificer, seeing as how they are half-casters with cantrips. They are the "Other Half" of half-casters.

Yep.

Artificer 7/ Wizard 13 nets you 9th level slots, and a single level dip into Artificer doesn't affect casting at all.

As a Bladesinger 15/ Battle Smith 5 you'll have Int to hit and [double Int] to damage with weapon attacks, extra attack, Int to AC and Int to Con saves
 


doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
My version on this does two main things:

A) your levels in a class with no spellcasting are counted at 1/3, your 1:3 class levels at 1/2, and your 1/2 class levels are rounded up, when determining your Spellcasting level on the multiclass Spellcasting table.

2) you pick a primary Spellcasting class from your classes. This cannot be changed. You access spells levels as if your multiclass spellcaster level was your class level in that class, thereby gaining known spells of any spell level for which you have spell slots.
 

My version on this does two main things:

A) your levels in a class with no spellcasting are counted at 1/3, your 1:3 class levels at 1/2, and your 1/2 class levels are rounded up, when determining your Spellcasting level on the multiclass Spellcasting table.

2) you pick a primary Spellcasting class from your classes. This cannot be changed. You access spells levels as if your multiclass spellcaster level was your class level in that class, thereby gaining known spells of any spell level for which you have spell slots.

So... A Divine Soul Sorcerer 17, Wizard 3 has a Caster level of 20 (Wizard plus Sorcerer), and Selects Wizard as his primary spellcasting class gaining access to all Wizard, Sorcerer and Cleric spells to level 9?

Plus 17 SP and metamagic?

Why wouldnt you?
 

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
So... A Divine Soul Sorcerer 17, Wizard 3 has a Caster level of 20 (Wizard plus Sorcerer), and Selects Wizard as his primary spellcasting class gaining access to all Wizard, Sorcerer and Cleric spells to level 9?

Plus 17 SP and metamagic?

Why wouldnt you?
You can’t choose a class that is the minority of your levels as your primary casting class.

that’s the thing about houserules. They don’t have to cover edge cases, because the DM can just say, “that’s not within the intent the thing.”

Also, good players see a feat made for them, to make their life easier, and don’t try to then cheese the heck out of it.

Edit: sorry, you can choose the minority level class as your primary casting class, but only if it is not the minority of you Spellcasting class levels. So, a Fighter10/Cleric4/Paladin3 could choose Cleric as their PSC.
And even then, you could pick Paladin, but only so long as your levels don’t get too out of whack. It’s a homebrew feat. Doesn’t need to precise.
 

jmartkdr2

Adventurer
So yes, the intention is it would never take a caster above the full casting equivalent character level.

In theory a variant human fighter could take this feat 4 times by level 9 and would be a 7th level caster, but would have effectively have given up all feats and stat increases. Feats are pretty good, it feels like giving up a lot. I don’t know how I feel about taking it multiple times. Hence the thread.
Why would you need to take it 4 times? Just twice (4th and 6th) would make you an EK full caster if I'm reading this right.
 




Halloween Horror For 5E

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top