This (silly?) problem came up during today's session:
Say we have a wizard W who wants to use a fireball spell, and a group of creatures C stand between him and his intended target T(or, more precisely, the intended target square/intersection). Everyone is medium-sized, and moving to the left or right of the group is not an option
. Think "wizard with lots of minions between himself and the pesky heroes".
W
CCCC
CCCC
T
According to the fireball spell :
The point of contention is the text in bold. After reading the description of Line of Effect (page 176, 3.5 PHB), and the FAQ (MainFAQ v06272003, page 52) I am the opinion that "normal" creatures do not block Line of Effect, and thus the glowing, pea-sized bead doesn't hit them and cause an early detonation. As it says in the FAQ (perhaps a bit out of context, but I'll take my chances) : "A creature generally doesn't block line of effect because it almost always leaves the requisite 1 square foot of open space per 5-foot-square area it happens to occupy."
Any opinions, or preferably, hard quotes from designers? I just read through Skip Williams' Rules on the Game, but don't feel any wiser (might have something to do with the fact that it's 6 AM in the morning, and my brain needs some sleep...)
Thanks in advance!
Say we have a wizard W who wants to use a fireball spell, and a group of creatures C stand between him and his intended target T(or, more precisely, the intended target square/intersection). Everyone is medium-sized, and moving to the left or right of the group is not an option

W
CCCC
CCCC
T
According to the fireball spell :
You point your finger and determine the range (distance and height) at which the fireball is to burst. A glowing, pea-sized bead streaks from the pointing digit and, unless it impacts upon a material body or solid barrier prior to attaining the prescribed range, blossoms into the fireball at that point. (An early impact results in an early detonation.) If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must “hit” the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely.
The point of contention is the text in bold. After reading the description of Line of Effect (page 176, 3.5 PHB), and the FAQ (MainFAQ v06272003, page 52) I am the opinion that "normal" creatures do not block Line of Effect, and thus the glowing, pea-sized bead doesn't hit them and cause an early detonation. As it says in the FAQ (perhaps a bit out of context, but I'll take my chances) : "A creature generally doesn't block line of effect because it almost always leaves the requisite 1 square foot of open space per 5-foot-square area it happens to occupy."
Any opinions, or preferably, hard quotes from designers? I just read through Skip Williams' Rules on the Game, but don't feel any wiser (might have something to do with the fact that it's 6 AM in the morning, and my brain needs some sleep...)
Thanks in advance!