Can you target a an enemy with a ranged attack who is in a square that was illuminated briefly, but went dark again the initiative count immediately before your turn?
One archer had a Daylight spell cast on his arrow which was readied to fire as soon as he had a visible target. The Daylight spell lit up a trio of Hill Giants, the Archer promptly fired the arrow, rolling a 1 and missing completely. The DM judged that the arrow flew from his longbow off into the darkness, and that the giants were no longer lit up. Then a second archer's init came up, and she wanted to fire into the now darkened square where she had just seen the giant standing. Would this work? 100% concealment, certainly, but would she even have a target?
One archer had a Daylight spell cast on his arrow which was readied to fire as soon as he had a visible target. The Daylight spell lit up a trio of Hill Giants, the Archer promptly fired the arrow, rolling a 1 and missing completely. The DM judged that the arrow flew from his longbow off into the darkness, and that the giants were no longer lit up. Then a second archer's init came up, and she wanted to fire into the now darkened square where she had just seen the giant standing. Would this work? 100% concealment, certainly, but would she even have a target?