D&D 4E First 4E Kill! (Spoilers, sure)

Chris_Nightwing

First Post
So we began playing KotS yesterday and moved at a surprising pace - 6 encounters, learning and lunch in 7 hours. I also achieved my first 4E kill - in the kobold lair, possibly following the rules, possibly 'interpreting' them, I'd be interested in other people's views.

The rogue and warlord were flanking Irontooth, the paladin was also in the melee next to the three of them. Irontooth was on 3 hitpoints and blood-crazed, so he used his dual attack on the paladin and rogue. The paladin goes down, the rogue is still up, so he uses his action point to do the same thing again. Now, he was marked by the paladin - does this go away when the paladin goes down? If it doesn't, he basically had to attack the paladin (and kill him easily with the extra damage he was doing). If it does go away, well, my interpretation was that he was crazed right, so he should kill more things? I was nice enough to assume the raise dead ritual had no lasting effects and just swiped all their gold for it, so the paladin came back to the adventure.

Am I mean or awesome?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I would imagine that the paladin's challenge turns off if he goes down, but that's just my interpretation. Incidentally, I ran the Irontooth fight for my group tonight, and the paladin went down (after Irontooth critically hit for 22 damage). He was only at 0, though, so he survived in the end.

I achieved my first ever 4th Ed kill earlier, in the second kobold ambush. The party wizard was left quite open while the warlord and paladin waded off into the bushes after the skirmisher. The wizard stepped up and dropped a scorching burst on the two dragonshields, who charged him and dropped him to negatives. The wizard was unfortunate enough to be in the blast area when the wyrmpriest, several rounds later, used his breath weapon to the devastating tune of 11 damage (just enough to put the poor wizard past his threshold).
 

He had to attack the Paladin because it only goes away if:
1) The Paladin fails to end it's turn adjacent OR
2) The Paladin fails to attack OR
3) The Paladin marks another target
 

If the paladin is knocked out, IMO that would mean that he has lost the challenge. He challenged Irontooth, with the gods guaranteeing that Irontooth respects the challenge. Irontooth struck him down. My poetical side would say that Irontooth is free from the challenge then.

EDIT: I think you did the right thing there :). He is blood crazed and had the chance to kill something before he himself was killed. Besides, the paladin had the presumption to challenge him, steering his hand! Something like that has to be punished ;).
 

Remove ads

Top