Flurry + TWF

Would it be any worse than a rogue who flanked an opponent and wielded two weapons? I don't think so. The monk would be dealing a little less in dice damage than a well placed rogue, more against constructs and undead. But the negative to hit would be applied to all attacks. Again if falls into the "would you spend the feats there or elsewhere for a monk?" and "Monks need all the help they can get, just let them have an extra hit" catagory. But then I am also in the boat of "let them have improved natural attack as they need all the bonus they can get" so many may disagree with me on this.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
It always struck me as an odd position to take.

"There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed" means "A monk's unarmed strike isn't treated as an off-hand attack... unless he makes an off-hand attack with it"?

-Hyp.

Perhaps I didn't express myself well. I did not intend to say that monks' unarmed strikes could be used as off-hand attacks. I only referred to special monk weapons being used as off-hand attacks.
 

Korak said:
Perhaps I didn't express myself well. I did not intend to say that monks' unarmed strikes could be used as off-hand attacks. I only referred to special monk weapons being used as off-hand attacks.

Sorry - you expressed yourself just fine. I had a bad flashback to an FAQ answer while reading your post, and got the two mixed up :)

-Hyp.
 

Klaus said:
To use Flurry of Blows + TWF:

- Designate "unarmed strike" as your primary weapon. Carry a (preferably light) weapon in one of your hands.
- Make a full attack, wielding both weapons. You suffer a -2 penalty on both attacks if the weapon is light.
- Your primary weapon, "unarmed strike", performs a Flurry of Blows, so you attack one more time with it, and it suffers an additional -2 penalty from the Flurry.

So a Monk 2/Ranger 2 with the two-weapon Combat Style and a shortsword has the following attacks available:

- Unarmed Strike +3 or
- Shortsword +3 or
- Unarmed Strike +1 and Shortsword +1 or
- Unarmed Strike -1/-1 and Shortsword +1
If you're going to combine two-weapon fighting (the rules, not necesarily the feat tree) with FoB, then FoB penalty (if any) must stack with appropriate two-weapon fighting penalties.
 

So, we have a monk ranger armed with a quarterstaff - using it as a double weapon he gets to flurry with his primary end and take his off-hand attacks with the secondary end, yes?

e.g. Monk1/Rgr3 has a BAB +3

with -2 flurry penalty and -2 TWF penalty he could do

primary -1/-1

secondary -1

when his BAB gets to +6 and he gets ITWF

primary +2/+2/-3
secondary +2/-3

Is that right?

Cheers
 

Plane Sailing said:
So, we have a monk ranger armed with a quarterstaff - using it as a double weapon he gets to flurry with his primary end and take his off-hand attacks with the secondary end, yes?

e.g. Monk1/Rgr3 has a BAB +3

with -2 flurry penalty and -2 TWF penalty he could do

primary -1/-1

secondary -1

when his BAB gets to +6 and he gets ITWF

primary +2/+2/-3
secondary +2/-3

Is that right?

Cheers

I'm also curious about the monk/ranger with quarterstaff issue
 

Plane Sailing said:
So, we have a monk ranger armed with a quarterstaff - using it as a double weapon he gets to flurry with his primary end and take his off-hand attacks with the secondary end, yes?

e.g. Monk1/Rgr3 has a BAB +3

with -2 flurry penalty and -2 TWF penalty he could do

primary -1/-1

secondary -1

when his BAB gets to +6 and he gets ITWF

primary +2/+2/-3
secondary +2/-3

Is that right?
Assuming that he's still a Monk 1/Ranger X (and therefore has not reduced his flurry of blows penalty) then you are correct.
 

Hypersmurf said:
There's also debate as to whether your off-hand attack can be with, say, a shortsword... or if it's under the 'when using Flurry of Blows' restriction of unarmed strikes or special monk weapons.
Erg... yeah, that issue seems confused. After reading all the FAQ's flurry answers, it almost seems that you can make extra natural attacks outside the flurry as part of your full attack, but manufactured weapons have to be flurryable to be added on. Weird (and inconsistent). Anybody else sift that out?
 

Hypersmurf said:
It always struck me as an odd position to take.

"There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed" means "A monk's unarmed strike isn't treated as an off-hand attack... unless he makes an off-hand attack with it"?
Glad we're in the same boat. The way I interpret it, if all your monk's attacks are going to be unarmed, then you can't apply two-weapon fighting rules, just the FoB (at player's discretion).
 

Dragon 349 has a Barbarian alt class feature which, among other things, provides:

"...the effects of Two-Weapon Fighting feat when fighting unarmed" [sic]

Just to toss some more lighter fluid into the fire...
 

Remove ads

Top