The following situation came up recently:
An enemy is flying 2 squares up, and wielding a weapon with Reach 2. It tries to stab a Ranger who is on the ground, and misses. The ranger expresses a wish to use Unbalancing Parry to move the creature.
The ruling as follows: per forced movement rules, you can't force a creature to move up or down. Therefore, no matter where the Ranger moves the creature, it will be 2 squares up, and thus will never be adjacent to the Ranger. Thus the Ranger cannot slide the creature into a square next to him and the power is unusable.
Is this fair/correct? Are there any alternative rulings here that people would use?
An enemy is flying 2 squares up, and wielding a weapon with Reach 2. It tries to stab a Ranger who is on the ground, and misses. The ranger expresses a wish to use Unbalancing Parry to move the creature.
The ruling as follows: per forced movement rules, you can't force a creature to move up or down. Therefore, no matter where the Ranger moves the creature, it will be 2 squares up, and thus will never be adjacent to the Ranger. Thus the Ranger cannot slide the creature into a square next to him and the power is unusable.
Is this fair/correct? Are there any alternative rulings here that people would use?