Follow Up Blow question

I was just wondering about the wording of FUB. It works on any attack power other than a melee basic attack, is that correct?

Okay, so what if you have Power of Skill, and have say...Overwhelming Strike substituted for MBAs that you do.

Does FUB work when you do an MBA with Overwhelming Strike then or not?

I mean, it it was just OS, then it would surely seem to kick in - but since OS is sub'ing for an MBA.... Hmm, hence my question. :)

Thanks!

PS Nevermind - just read the updated errata'ed version:

Update (4/8/2010)
Replace the Effect entry with the following text: “Until the stance ends, when you hit with a melee attack, you can use a free action to make melee basic attack with your off-hand weapon. You can do this once per round, and the off-hand weapon attack takes a –2 penalty to its attack roll.”

So this brings up another question for me - if, after your turn, but on the same round, you get an OA against a foe and you hit - would FUB kick in, or not - since its not a new round?

Thanks again!
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I was just wondering about the wording of FUB. It works on any attack power other than a melee basic attack, is that correct?

Okay, so what if you have Power of Skill, and have say...Overwhelming Strike substituted for MBAs that you do.

Does FUB work when you do an MBA with Overwhelming Strike then or not?

I mean, it it was just OS, then it would surely seem to kick in - but since OS is sub'ing for an MBA.... Hmm, hence my question. :)

Thanks!
"As a" and "in place of" are never "is.". Works fine.

Note FUB got errata'd so be significantly weaker in May.
 




So this brings up another question for me - if, after your turn, but on the same round, you get an OA against a foe and you hit - would FUB kick in, or not - since its not a new round?!

If you hadn't used it this round, sure, why wouldn't it?

Hmm, but what if 2 different foes move past you in the same round, triggering OA's? Would FUB kick in twice then? Or just on the first one?

You can only take the FUB granted attack once per round. So either one... you decide... you don't have to use it the first time... but you can't guarantee it will trigger again... and you can't save 'em (i.e. you can only use it when they trigger).
 
Last edited:



So basically, aside from it being a free action, FUB errate'd is no better than say, Quicksilver Blade Stance.

Wow, like Solar Wrath, they super-nerfed it. :(

Its still a decent stance for some characters to use. There are other ways to get similar results but FUB is an easy one to pick up and can benefit a number of dual wielding classes. You can still do some substitution tricks with it, etc. Its rather handy that you can whack someone twice on an OA too!
 

"As a" and "in place of" are never "is.". Works fine.

I'm not so sure ""...may be used as a melee basic attack" is in any way different from "is a basic attack."

Bracers of the Perfect Shot add their damage bonus to Magic Missile, for instance. And the melee equivalent item works for druid powers like Grasping Claws.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top