Force effects vs. golem's magic immunity?


log in or register to remove this ad

HeavyG said:
Well, since it works like unbeatable SR, you should be able to turn off your immunity to benefit from positive effects. However, a golem is not intelligent, so it wouldn't be able to do so, IMO.

The golem's immunity would only interfere if it was an unwilling target of the teleport spell. If it is willing, saves and SR don't apply. At least, that's the way the description of teleport looks.
 

Yah, Teleport states that only held or attended objects get saves or SR. Since a construct is a creature, not an object, it looks like the spell would work.
 

AuraSeer said:
Yah, Teleport states that only held or attended objects get saves or SR. Since a construct is a creature, not an object, it looks like the spell would work.

Exactly. Although, I can definately say that I've always wondered how the heck those teleport traps are supposed to even function, ya' know? :D
 


The traps use Teleportation Circle, which does not require that the targets be willing.

I always wanted an Offensive Teleport spell that followed the items-aren't-affected-except-on-a-1 rule for damaging spells.

If you save - no effect.

If you fail - you're teleported, but your equipment isn't.

If you roll a 1 - you're teleported with one piece of equipment.

"Sir! A naked man with a shield just appeared in the courtyard! He looks... surprised..."

-Hyp.
 

There was an interesting trap in 2e called the interdimentional mine. If you touched it, everthing within exactly 3' was transported to a different plane. If you happened to be on that border, you get to be cut in half. Inside the range, you only have to deal with the plane of fire (or where ever you end up).
 

Well it's worth noting that creatures do get a save and SR against teleport. When they say that only held and attended objects get saves, they mean as opposed to object just lying around in the middle of nowhere.

However I'm pretty sure it's right that the golem could choose to lower his SR and allow himself to be teleported.
 

niteshade6 said:
When they say that only held and attended objects get saves, they mean as opposed to object just lying around in the middle of nowhere.

Sure, but I don't think that also applies to creatures. It specifically mentions objects, not creatures.
 


Remove ads

Top