Full round casting, reflex saves, area of effect spells

rvalle

First Post
Hi,

I don't think this is covered in the rules.

Lets say a Sorc/Rog is casting an Enlarge Person spell (casting time 1 round). While he is casting, an area of effect spell goes off and he is in its effect.

Does he get a reflex save per normal. If he makes it (and has Evasion) does he then take 0 damage and so can keep casting the spell as if nothing has happened?

Thanks,

rv
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yupp. Certainly. There's nothing in the rules saying you can't do anything else while casting. I mean, you don't lose your Dex bonus to AC for example.
 





Agreed, you would make a Saving throw to evade damage from the spell, but you would need to succeed the Concentration check to continue casting your own spell.
 

Random Axe said:
Agreed, you would make a Saving throw to evade damage from the spell, but you would need to succeed the Concentration check to continue casting your own spell.
Interesting. So if you are a wizard facing, say, a Barbazu, and you ready an action to disrupt his Teleport spell-like ability, could you hit him with a Scorching Ray to force a Concentration check? Even though he's immune to fire and has SR?
 

Brother MacLaren said:
Interesting. So if you are a wizard facing, say, a Barbazu, and you ready an action to disrupt his Teleport spell-like ability, could you hit him with a Scorching Ray to force a Concentration check? Even though he's immune to fire and has SR?
I don't think so; The creature was totally unaffected. It didn't need to dodge or move, or flinch, because It knows it's immune to fire AND magically resistant.

The rogue/wizard example is different, he has to dodge/evade said fireball or whatnot.

I think it's DM's call, but in general, I don't think anything that would inconvenience you in the least would disrupt spellcasting.
 


Remove ads

Top