GMW + Gauntlet + Touch Attack

daemonslye

First Post
Situation:

GMW cast on a clerics gauntlet and the cleric casts
a spell with the range of touch.

Question:

Does the cleric get the enhancement bonus to the
touch attack?

My initial thoughts:

No. The cleric cannot add the enhancement bonus
unless he is making an unarmed strike with the gauntlet
(and prokoving an AOO even though the spell is active).
Same for a spiked gauntlet (except this is an "armed" attack).

Other considerations

However, either gauntlet or spiked gauntlet may be used
as a "weapon" and thus may be GMW'ed (the case is stronger
for spiked gauntlet IMO).

A cleric can cast spells wearing gauntlets because they do
not suffer arcane spell failure and "gauntlets" are included
in the description of "armor" (making the case for gauntlets
not allowed to be GMW'ed greater).

Can a cleric cast a spell with a spiked gauntlet? I think so -
I have never worn a spiked gauntlet, but from some research
on the web, they do not seem dissimilar in construction (many
non-spiked gauntlets were made to function as weapons
thus the "normal damage" allowed when striking with them).

A cleric will give up his "right" to make a touch attack (well, not
really, they can take the touch attack, just not with the GMW
bonus) and must use a separate (single or full) attack action to
punch with the (spiked) gauntlet.

Anything I missed here?

Thanks,

~D
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Well, by the rules, there does not seem to a limitation for divine spellcasters. That said, it seems to me that most common divine spells are V,S or V,S,DF. It may be a credible distiction to restrict clerics from casting spells with an F (not DF) or M component (that is not a specifically "arcane material component") to a full round action or not at all?

~D
 


I'm not sure I understand how you're making that conclusion.

Which one? Thanks, ~D

That said, it seems to me that most common divine spells are V,S or V,S,DF. It may be a credible distiction to restrict clerics from casting spells with an F (not DF) or M component (that is not a specifically "arcane material component") to a full round action or not at all?

You should add "if wearing gauntlets" to that - Just going with FlimFlam's question.
 

Ok...the "with gauntlets" clause helps to make sense of how you reached that conclusion. I don't agree - not all clerics wear gauntlets all the time so I don't think that this is the only reason they don't normally have material or focus components. It seems logical that wearing gauntlets should impair using such components, yes, but I don't remember a rule.

IceBear
 
Last edited:

I don't think gauntlets have any effect on divine spellcasting, since, per the gauntlet weapon description (PHB p. 100), medium and heavy armors (except breastplate) come with them. If there was an effect, there should have been a "divine spell failure" column on the armor table.
 
Last edited:

Gauntlets don't have any armor value, or arcane spell failure. I don't see why they would interfere with spellcasting, least of all divine spellcasting.
 

I agree. I was just trying to understand how he jumped from most cleric spells are V,S or V,S,DF to that being because of gauntlets.

IceBear
 

Remove ads

Top