doosler said:
But since a 15 Int allows the capacity to "hold" a bonus 2nd level spell, and since higher level spell slots can be used to cast lower level spells, I can use that 2nd level spell slot at 1st level to cast a level 0 or level 1 spell.
This is a big assumption. I've never heard of getting a bonus spell for a level you can't cast. After a light browse of the SRD, I couldn't find language that specifically said otherwise, but I'd be surprised if there weren't.
Summon Hypersmurf
If you don't get your higher-level bonus spells before you can cast spells of that level, then you won't get a bonus 3rd level spell slot from a 17 Int until you can cast 3rd level spells, which is at 5th level. Here's your class spell slots and bonus spells breakdown, assuming you don't specialize.
1st Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 3; 1st Level: 1+1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 3; 1st Level: 1+1
2nd Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 2+1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 2+1
3rd Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 2+1; 2nd Level: 1+1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 2+1; 2nd Level: 1+1
4th Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 2+1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 2+1
5th Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 2+1; 3rd Level: 1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 2+1; 3rd Level: 1+1
6th Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 3+1; 3rd Level: 2
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 3+1; 2nd Level: 3+1; 3rd Level: 2+1
7th Level:
Int 15 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 4+1; 2nd Level: 3+1; 3rd Level: 2; 4th Level: 1
Int 17 --- Cantrips: 4; 1st Level: 4+1; 2nd Level: 3+1; 3rd Level: 2+1; 4th Level: 1
This is with a constant 15 and 17 Int. At 4th level you will have the option to put another point in your ability scores. If the points go into Int, 7th level is the first time you will ever have more spells per day with a 17 Int versus a 15 Int.
Similarly, if a wizard is so intelligent that he gets a bonus slot for a spell of a certain level, but hasn't gained enough experience to have learned any spells of that level yet, shouldn't he be able to use that slot to cast a lower level spell?
Is this against the rules? What do you guys think?
It's not unreasonable, but I suspect the SRD language doesn't support it.
eamon said:
There are a lot of illusion spells which require a saving throw. Unlike direct damage spells, if your opponent succeeds at his saving thow, he'll be completely unaffected.
Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief ): Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.
A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn’t real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.
Enemies only get saving throws if they interact with the illusion; if they have no reason to disbelieve the illusion or interact with it, they don't even get a saving throw. This will depend upon the DM's definition of "interact", of course.
Also, if there is proof the illusion is false, they need no saving throw to disbelieve.
In both of these cases, which will not be rare, the extra +1 to the DC yields absolutely no benefit.