Golem and Dispel magic

Shin Okada said:
So this function of Dispel Magic spell works when "If the object that you target is a magic item". Does not work when "If the creature that you target is a magic item".

Ooh, good point.

Okay, so golems can't be suppressed with Dispel Magic, but there's still no reason they can't be Disjoined :)

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
They're immune to magic that allows SR. Dispel Magic doesn't.

Feel free to Acid Arrow or Orb of Flame your golem - it works just fine.

-Hyp.
Ah. Silly me. So I'll use that Flame Orb next time I see an Iron Golem.

No, wait!

:D
 


consensus?

so is the consensus that a Dispel Magic would work on the Su or Sp abilities of a golem, shield guardian, homonculus, psicrystal, or intelligent magic item, but would not negate their abilities as creatures? Probably not negating anything Ex, certainly? So your magic sword would yell, "agh! I can't light up my fire! hack and slash! hack and slash!"

Disjunction, however, would totally hose any of the above. Yes?
 

Bad Paper said:
so is the consensus that a Dispel Magic would work on the Su or Sp abilities of a golem, shield guardian, homonculus, psicrystal, or intelligent magic item, but would not negate their abilities as creatures? Probably not negating anything Ex, certainly? So your magic sword would yell, "agh! I can't light up my fire! hack and slash! hack and slash!"

Well, as Shin Okada pointed out, Dispel Magic only suppresses the magical properties of magic items that are objects, and constructs aren't :)

-Hyp.
 


Cool discussion circle.

Response #1 : "Dispelling does not work."

Responses #2-23 : Discussion of terminology.

Response #24 : End answer: Dispelling does not work.

Quasqueton
 

Bad Paper said:
so is the consensus that a Dispel Magic would work on the Su or Sp abilities of a golem... Disjunction, however, would totally hose any of the above. Yes?

Actually, aside from the terminological debate above, my reading is that nothing like dispel, antimagic, or disjunction is intended to function against a golem. The evidence in the description to antimagic field and the FAQ are quite strong that constructs are not meant to be treated as magic items in this sense. I think most people play with golems not affected by those effects.
 


Hypersmurf said:
A case could be made, however, that for 1d4 rounds the golem could not activate [Su] abilities, since these are magical properties of the magic item (the golem)... just as they could not use those [Su] abilities in an AMF.
Su abilities are not affected by dispel magic, however, so that would imply that golems are unaffected by dispel magic entirely.

Shin Okada said:
OK, A Golem may be an magic item. But as it is cleally not an object, dispelling does not work. ...

So this function of Dispel Magic spell works when "If the object that you target is a magic item". Does not work when "If the creature that you target is a magic item".
But, constructs are animated objects. Golems are not only magical items, but also creatures and objects. Just like zombies are creatures and objects, but not magical items.
 

Remove ads

Top