Good 8, Evil 9 - Evil wins the Exhibition!

Top of 73:
Krathlakk starts his dastardly plan, part 1.

Bottom of 74:
Hurrycane starts his noble and upright plan.

Top of 75:
Krathlakk continues his evil plan part 2.

Bottom of 75:
Hurrycane enacts step 2 of his celestial agenda.

Krathlakk
[sblock]
Both walls of fire are in place.
When you get ready to take your turn in the Top of 76, you become aware that there is an invisible creature somewhere within 30ft of you, but you don't know where.
[/sblock]

Hurrycane
[sblock]
As you reappear, you find that you are in the hotzone of a wall of fire, but it does not penetrate your SR. You can see that there now two new walls of fire, 20ft high, running east to west across the arena, at 120n facing south and 80n facing north.
K is still at 100n55e.
You do not know at this moment whether he can sense you or not.
[/sblock]

Top of 76, for evil!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Krathlakk looks around nervously.
[sblock] First of all, note that "An incorporeal creature moves silently and cannot be heard with Listen checks if it doesn’t wish to be."

Listen as a move action. If Hurrycane is pinpointed, then attack with the longspear (5ft-step if necessary/possible). If Hurrycane is not pinpointed, then ready to attack with the longspear once he is pinpointed (such as being attacked or targeted with an effect or hears movement reactively), taking a 5ft-step if necessary/possible. [/sblock] Hurrycane, wait for a response from the mod before acting.
 

Greybar[sblock]I agree that Listen checks should be useless. I think a Spot check might work, but the DC should be at least 30, because Hurrycane is not moving around.[/sblock]
 



PJSlavner
[sblock]
From my reading of this, getting Hurrycane's square to make an attack will be at least DC40 (20+20), which is beyond Kathlakk's ability to reach.

As for the "I gots a funny feeling" result, I decided it only was DC20 since tporting in was "being active" in my mind. As it turns out, he got a nat20 on the Spot for a 33 result, so he would have passed the DC30 barrier too. The tougher thing in my mind is that if H went still, should get count as a "immobile unliving" or not and I think my answer is "no" since even as a globe perhaps he's pulsing with breathlike motion, and isn't merely an object.
[/sblock]
 


OOC: Okay, I ran into a time-loop in the rules that hurts my head - Readying. K is readied to attack when Hurrycane's position becomes clear: "If Hurrycane is pinpointed, then attack with the longspear (5ft-step if necessary/possible)."

According to the SRD: "The action occurs just before the action that triggers it." So this means that K's riposte to H's light rays happens ?before? the light rays? Ick. Either opponent could kill the other with a shot - so K could stab H with his longspear, killing him, as a readied action triggered on H's ray attack that kills K, but which takes place before H's attack. Yet, without the ray attack K can't see H to attack. *boom*

If that actually happened, I think I'd invoke Rule 0 and call it a simul-kill.
Fortunately it didn't, but through another rule issue...

K is 25ft from H, and so can't reach him without a five-foot step. But the ready says that you can "ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action." but not "a free and a standard", so I'm going to rule that K cannot 5ft step and stab H as a readied action.

Bottom of 76:
Two rays lance out from 80N75E, dealing 22 points of damage to Krathlakk, dropping him to 5 hp! Krathlakk tries to lunge with his spear to stab that location, but it's too far away.

Krathlakk's turn in the Top of 77.

(Greybar braces for critique :) )
 

I agree about the part where one's head hurts.

You can ready a five-foot step as part of your readied action as long as you take no other movement during the readied action, according to the third paragraph in the PHB under Readying an Action on page 160. This statement is also in the SRD as a one sentence paragraph under Readying an Action.

Krathlakk should get his readied attack, although you could rule it happens after he gets hit by two light rays. I think I would rule that Krathlakk attacks after one of the light rays goes off, and before the other one does.
 

Somewhere in the rules it says that he can include a five foot step, so he gets me. He still has to hit. :]

As far as the timing issue goes, it is more to resolve what happens after the turn is over. In this case I would let him attack after a ray hits him, then complete the rest of my turn. He would then have initiative just before me in future rounds.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top