Grab and Go

Thanks for the rules clarification on the second point.

But for the first point, then there's no way for two people to drag someone somewhere? Say if two town guards (cops) are trying to drag a thug (gansta) away... only one could the other would keep losing his grip?

I guess it's one of those things that always a little funky with a phased initiative system. Kind of like how people can't actually march in sync, it's always person 1 who moves, then person 2, then person 3, etc. Readying actions can help but is clumsy and creates it's own problems (for example they can only take single actions each round).

It's usually better to assume for out of combat things like the cops dragging away a gangster that it just works because your not in an initiative/combat system anymore. For in combat things like the zombies, readying is the best your going to do. Of course is zombie one pulls the person in the pit, there's nothing stopping zombie two from jumping in after him.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Although no rule specifically allows simultaneous actions, I don't think any rule forbids them.

Well, to move, you need to take a move action, and to move someone you're grabbing, you need to take a standard action. Those actions can only be done on your turn, and cannot be taken on someone else's turn.

So if it's your turn, there's a rule forbidding your partner from taking a simultaneous action, and if it's your partner's turn, there's a rule forbidding your partner from taking a simultaneous action.

You can take a standard action on someone else's turn by readying it... but then it's an immediate reaction, and happens after the action that triggered it but before the other person's turn continues. So, again, not simultaneous.

Even if your initiative results are the same: "When combatants have the same initiative, the combatant with the higher initiative bonus (the total of one-half your level, your Dexterity modifier, and any bonuses) goes before the other. If their bonuses are the same, they can roll a die or flip a coin to break the tie."

So, again, not simultaneous.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:


Ah, Ok then. Still, my monsters usually move simultaneously if they are the same type, and if players WANT to move together for some reason, I'll allow it. Particularly for situations like (for instance) walking down a corridor in marching order... at no point is the lead guy ever 6 squares ahead of everyone else. Or if you have a portal that changes which Plane it connects to every few seconds, and the players want to "1-2-3-GO!" all jump in together. Not RAW perhaps, but it makes more sense to me.

I always try to remember that the rules are intended as an aid to simulating a situation. When the rules become an obstacle to simulation, I stop using them.
 

No - at no point is the grabee moving without the grabber moving at the same time.
Code:
------- ------- ------- ------- ------- ------- ------- 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR]...| 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]..| 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |...@.| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR].@.| |...@.| 
|.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]..| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]..| |.....| 
|.....| |.....| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR]...| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR].@.| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR]...| |.....| |.....| 
|.....| |.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR]...| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]..| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]..| |.....| |.....| |.....| 
|.[COLOR=yellow]o[/COLOR]h@.| |..[COLOR=red]h[/COLOR]@.| |...@.| |.....| |.....| |.....| |.....| 
------- ------- ------- ------- ------- ------- ------- 
   1       2       3       4       5       6       7
Step 1: The orc and the human have grabbed the dwarf.
Step 2: The orc moves (or shifts) north one square.
Step 3: The orc takes a standard action to drag the dwarf north one square.
Step 4: The human takes a move action to move north two squares.
Step 5: The human takes a standard action to drag the dwarf north two squares.
Step 6: The orc takes a move action to move north two squares.
Step 7: The orc takes a standard action to drag the dwarf north two squares.

Repeat steps 4-7 each round.

-Hyp.

K, i understand now better, but I still worry about the RAW saying standard action and you move half your speed and pull the target with you. Doesn't say you can stay where you are and pull the target towards you.

EDIT: Actually i think it is just timing/verbage semantics I'm quibbling over, as I think you may be right about using your move action to move two squares, and your standard to move and pull.


Tellerve
 
Last edited:

You know I'm just going to come out and ask it after all these months...

What the heck does RAW stand for?

Really Awesome Wules?

Right Angle Weasles?

Rogues Against Women?
 

Rules As Written, as opposed to RAI, Rules As Intended...

I think that's what RAI means.

Anyways, I too interestingly enough just learned this not too long ago.

Tellerve
 



But for the first point, then there's no way for two people to drag someone somewhere? Say if two town guards (cops) are trying to drag a thug (gansta) away... only one could the other would keep losing his grip?

Yes - a very simple way, everyone agrees it clearly works and just gets on with it.
 

Remove ads

Top