Guardians - Welcome to the Wild Wild West (FULL)

Calinon said:
He will gain the benefit of his dexterity any time his armor is bypassed. With his armor he gains +8, but if someone has the ultra vibro blade of armor negation, he gets +6. Also, as his armor degrades with the ablative flaw he will gain the benefit of super dexterity.

Yup. I am pefectly happy having him keep both as long as he understands he will only be getting a max of +8 out of his powers. So Keia, what I just said except like I was talking to you not Calinon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Is taunt a half action, or a full action? Also, I don't have my book with me at the moment, are there any half actions that raise your defense? Tumble or anything like that? Karma is not very combat oriented, and going out of her way just to get hit so that her powers can hurt her attacker is not something she would be willing to do when she has barely any combat knowledge, and not knoiwing the limits of your powers, getting shot seems like a bad idea.
 

Taunt is a half action.

You have to attack to Fight Defensively. You could use your half action for Total Defense.

There won't be an update till late tonight at the earliest becuase I have to go sing in the lehigh valley and I won't be home till 1:30 or so. Look for one tomorrow morning.

The weekend will not see a new update unless all of you regular posters have chiemed in...have a good weekend.
 
Last edited:

Updated with round 1-stopped before Carbons turn. Post second round actions anyway.

So far Guardians 0/Team super-science 1.
 

*blinks* Well, um...ouch! I hate area effects... ;)

[EDIT] One thing, which may just be my maths being funky - I don't know exactly what numbers you're chucking around, so I can't be sure - but I made both the Ref saves, so I'm saving at half effect, right? The first attack on me looks like it was DC 19 after halving, so it was at +8 originally - but the second looks like it was at DC 22 after halving, so it would have been +14 originally. Similarly, for Karma - she seemed to be making saves at DC 21 after subtracting her 8 pts of Absorption, which means base attacks of DC 29.That seems like a *huge* gun there... :uhoh: Or am I missing something? It feels like I am...but I can't pin down what it is.

Synch.
 
Last edited:

Synchronicity said:
*blinks* Well, um...ouch! I hate area effects... ;)

[EDIT] One thing, which may just be my maths being funky - I don't know exactly what numbers you're chucking around, so I can't be sure - but I made both the Ref saves, so I'm saving at half effect, right? The first attack on me looks like it was DC 19 after halving, so it was at +8 originally - but the second looks like it was at DC 22 after halving, so it would have been +14 originally. Similarly, for Karma - she seemed to be making saves at DC 21 after subtracting her 8 pts of Absorption, which means base attacks of DC 29.That seems like a *huge* gun there... :uhoh: Or am I missing something? It feels like I am...but I can't pin down what it is.

Synch.

You guys did get owned that first round. But then again, none of you actually attacked. There was also a wave of really bad rolling for everyone but the team NPC's. Go figure. Calinon caught the terrible rolling hardest.

Well, I screwed up your numbers but not your results. They are fixed now. Karma's numbers are correct. I include her 8 points of Absorption in her DMG save. But now that I am thinking about it the energy blast would all be absorbed. Balance wise that makes Absorption way better than Protection/Force Field with the 'High Lethality' rules we are using. Hmmm...I'll ponder what I want to do with that. I'll listen to suggestions on the matter.

Gideon waves the 'do not apply this to charachter decisions' flag.


The globes are Level 6 Kinetic Energy Blasts w/ Area. So if my math is correct that should mean the DC on saves are: DMG full = 21, Ref = 16, DMG half = 18. I hope that makes more sense now.

You made your original Ref of 17 but had stated earlier to spend a HP if the reflex roll was less than 8, which it was.
 

1)Does this seem slightly off?
you said energy blast +6
absorbtion +8 should fully take care of it, absorbtion is 3pp a rank (1 more then protection). If you subtracted the 8 ranks of absorbtion and still made her roll the damage save, that would be a save against DC 13(21-8), meaning that she would have made both saves. Either way Karma should have no damage, (whether you said that the absorbtion 8 handles it, or if you give me a damage save at -8 DC.)

If you are going with the option of damage save at -8 DC, what is the point of protection, absorbtion vs amazing save damage when they cost either +1pp/lvl, or +2pp/lvl.

2)The Sgt should not have been able to make any action at all but a charge directly at Karma, that was the effect I choose for the taunting, and she succeeded at it. He has to either make a charge attack, or if he is out of range of that, a double move action directly at me, no other options.

3) In either case the robot should have to make 2 DC 23 damage saves (not including Karma's surpise strike feat which would bump them to 2 DC 27 damage saves, if it applied, not sure either way, I'd think getting injured out of the blue with no apparent source for the damage would be surprising)

4) I posted that Karma was moving to stay with the others, not really a major issue, I meant Linda, I just need to be more specific I guess
 
Last edited:

Gideon said:
The globes are Level 6 Kinetic Energy Blasts w/ Area. So if my math is correct that should mean the DC on saves are: DMG full = 21, Ref = 16, DMG half = 18. I hope that makes more sense now.

Level six blasts are 30' radius. Did the blast that hit lightspeed and phoenix (who are 30 ft apart in distance and 40' apart in height actually hit both of us? At level 6, the range penalty for the attack was at least -2.

Regardless, at a DC of 18, Phoenix only missed the save by 3, not 6. Therefore, I would think he is still in the air and flying. If possible, Phoenix will spend a HP on the save, making it a minimum of a 10, plus a damage save of 10, total 20 and a save.

finally, if a hero point is spent on a reroll, I thought if it was below 10, the die roll was considered a ten.

Keia
 

Remove ads

Top