Odd, yes, but not really a problem. You only need 1 hand free for the initial casting, and get a free draw/stow action. So you could cast a spell then draw your sword on the same turn, or store your sword and cast, and you can re-place hex with your sword draw. Paladins and rangers have to deal with this all the time as well.Does anyone else think it's odd that the Hexblade's weapon can't act as an Arcane Focus? The College of Swords get this and Bards don't even have access to shields. The Hexblade has proficiency in them, but the only way they can actually use a shield is to take Warcaster. It kind of seems like a Feat Tax to get the full AC benefits of the class. Seems like an oversight. Has there been any errata regarding this?
At worst, you will put your sword away to cast a spell, and have to punch at someone for your opportunity attack. But your probably going to cast on turn 1, and attack the rest of the battle, and enemies probably won't provoke even if you did. So it may only come up once in a campaign.
It's a very minor inconvenience, not a tax.