Handing Someone an Item

Infiniti2000

First Post
The thread on carrying PC's reminded me of a question I've been meaning to ask.

What kind of actions are required to hand an ally an item (e.g. a wand)? Assume that you're standing adjacent to the ally and neither are smaller than Small. Tell me how you resolve the actions for both the giver and the taker, whether you require readied/delayed actions or not.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I tend to make it a free action that needs to be performed on the same initiative.

Billy the wizard holds his action until Jimbo the rogue is paying attention. On Jimbo's turn, Billy hands over the wand of maximized, empowered, and widened presidigitation to Jimbo, which takes both of their free actions. Then we continue with Billy's turn, then Jimbo's turn, as normal.
 

pallandrome's system is nice, I may try that. I usually do approximately the same thing but make someone pay a move action, usually the giver. the taker is often extremely wounded and fleeing, so this works out for everyone.
 

The giver uses either an attack or move action.
The receiver uses up thier AoO to take the object with their free hand.

If wand relay is a problem, ruling Magic items won't activate until the initative tick they were last activated on could help.
 

It happened so few times, that i actually don't remember whether I ruled it was a MEA or a standard action... At the moment I would probably require a move equivalent action from both, but I wouldn't probably require a delay from either to go to the same initiative.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
The thread on carrying PC's reminded me of a question I've been meaning to ask.

What kind of actions are required to hand an ally an item (e.g. a wand)? Assume that you're standing adjacent to the ally and neither are smaller than Small. Tell me how you resolve the actions for both the giver and the taker, whether you require readied/delayed actions or not.

If the donator readies an action, s/he can hand over the item to the receiver actively, as in s/he puts the item in question into the hand/appendage/bag/belt/etc. of the receiver.

If the receiver has to fetch the item from the willing (to exclude the grab-an-item-rules) donator, s/he must spend a move action to do so.

Both cases assume that donator and receiver are somehow adjacent and/or have reach with the respective appendage to donate/receive the item.

Both cases don't exclude the possibility of provoking AoOs from opponents.

It must be taken into account that an opponent may grab the item in the meantime, as the item in question may no longer be well secured.

Enjoy!
 

frankthedm said:
If wand relay is a problem...
Usually, it's about handing over healing potions, but once there was a wand of shield involved -- that pesky Range: Personal, don'tchyaknow.

Thanks to everyone for your replies.
 

I'd make it a move action from the giver but not the taker if the giver tossed it ( easy Reflex save to catch it), and a swift action (or pretty much an immediate action) from the taker if not. Often times, the swift action is worth more than a move action. Plus, I like the idea of snatch and run. Yoink! ;)
 

I like how my current DM handles it. Free action to simply stick your hand out (with the item) towards the ally. The ally expends an AoO to make a disarm attempt with an empty hand, first character voluntarily fails the check, and the item is transferred. We're only 6 or 7 sessions into the campaign and we've already made use of his ruling half a dozen times. I don't see why it should take more than a free action to carelessly stick your hand out in someone's general direction if you're within reach.
 

Hmmm. Nice discussion. Id love an "official" ruling on this since I tend to keep several minions-unseenservants, tiny undead, etc , around as extra hands.
My favorit use involves a light crossbow with a strap. Undead monkey holds strap, I hold bow.
I fire bow,then drop it(a free action)or simply hold it , if I dont need that hand. Undead monkey pulls bow up( picking up an item is a move action, that provokes an AoO),or Draws it from my hand (a move for him) and reloades it( a move action that provokes AoO).
Next time I want it, I Draw it from his hands( a free action if i have even one BaB), and Conece fireing.
Crazy stupid complex? Yeah. All it does is let me run and gun like a regular archer, without spendinga feat, expending cash on magic items, or exposing myself to extra AoO.
It also uses some thing I have already(tiny undead).
Could do the same with a Unseen Servant, but that would cost a slot, and ima cheep bastig.

If you think this is a little wierd, perhaps I should tell you the one about applying Magic Oils, without provoking an AoO...or maybe not... :heh:
 

Remove ads

Top