Handing Someone an Item

RonYon said:
I fire bow,then drop it(a free action)or simply hold it , if I dont need that hand. Undead monkey pulls bow up( picking up an item is a move action, that provokes an AoO),or Draws it from my hand (a move for him) and reloades it( a move action that provokes AoO).
I don't agree that a Tiny creature could load a Medium crossbow. I don't even think a Small creature could. It requires two hands for a Medium creature to reload and based on the normal weapon size rules, it should not be possible to reload a larger weapon (treating reloading as two-handed even though you can fire it one-handed). At best, I'd say it could be argued to allow a Small creature, but definitely not a Tiny creature.

RonYon said:
Next time I want it, I Draw it from his hands( a free action if i have even one BaB), and Conece fireing.
It seems like you are treating this like Draw a weapon. Note that it's definitely not a free action because that rule is only for when you take a regular move. However, you are not taking a regular move, so it's not a free action (unless you have quick draw). I think the idea of treating it like Draw a Weapon is fine, however, letting someone with Quick Draw do it better. However, would you let it work that way with non-weapons like a potion or a holy symbol?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

frankthedm said:
The giver uses either an attack or move action.
The receiver uses up thier AoO to take the object with their free hand.
That is a good idea. *wanders off to add it to houserule document.*


glass.
 

As a DM, I do it exactly the way StreamOftheSky described it. Great minds think alike ...

The basic premise is that it shouldn't be *more* difficult for you to voluntarily hand an item to an ally than it is to involuntarily hand an item to an enemy. That is, an ally should be able to disarm you as easily as an enemy can.

So, as a free action on your turn, you can voluntarily provoke an attack of opportunity from an ally. Then the ally, on his turn, can move to within "disarm" reach and take an attack of opportunity against you (presumably, attempting to disarm you of the item), and you can voluntarily allow yourself to be disarmed.

Under these rules, the giver must declare in advance, on his turn, that he intends to let down his guard, and the taker must then spend the AOO. A theoretical downside is treachery: the giver is letting down his guard against the taker, so the taker could in theory do something treacherous with that AOO rather than cooperative.

If the giver hasn't declared in advance, the taker must either take the item by force (a real disarm attempt) or take some sort of delaying or readying action so that he acts after the giver has declared.
 

Remove ads

Top