What Rune says seems to make sense, as well as being supported by the "rules"...and simple.
[EDIT PS: and welcome to EN world. Have some start up XP. /EDIT]
[MENTION=67]Rune[/MENTION] has been here since 2002.
What Rune says seems to make sense, as well as being supported by the "rules"...and simple.
[EDIT PS: and welcome to EN world. Have some start up XP. /EDIT]
[MENTION=67]Rune[/MENTION] has been here since 2002.
@Rune has been here since 2002.
Well, 1999, really. But I think the welcome was intended for Geordon.![]()
If was a charmed guard, I think the disarm attempt would be "Hey! Nice staff! Can I hold it for a sec?" (And would probably point out to the players that attacking the weapon is unnecessary, or at least call for a Wis check for anyone about to attack).
Otherwise, yeah, what everyone else said regarding the Disarm rules. However, when confronted by such quandaries in the future, I'd say try to get comfortable with winging it... call for an attack roll or opposed roll as you see fit, then look the rule up later. Most players are fine with "okay, here's how it was suppose to work, so we'll do it that way going forward."
Good point. Hadn't thought of that. Also, isn't there some stipulation that if you attack the charmed individual, the charm is broken? Or that's only if the caster does? Still, "Are these your friends?! Why are your friends swinging axes at me?" seems a legitimate response.
From the Charm Person entry in the Basic Rules (emphasis mine): "If it fails the saving throw, it is charmed by you until the spell ends or until you or your companions do anything harmful to it."