Haste and ready opponent

Harrassed DM

First Post
What happens to the initiative order when a hasted person triggers a readied action with the second action of their round. does the person who readied go before both actions next round, between the two actions or after.

my ruling (much to my players annoyance) was before his next action but i'd like to hear others opinions.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Harrassed DM said:
What happens to the initiative order when a hasted person triggers a readied action with the second action of their round. does the person who readied go before both actions next round, between the two actions or after.

my ruling (much to my players annoyance) was before his next action but i'd like to hear others opinions.

AFAIK, initiative order is not affected by readied actions, regardless of the source.

-Fletch!
 

p134 PHB Ready

Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied partial action in response to those conditions. The partial action comes before the action that triggers it. For the rest of the fight, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.


Now that i've typed that out i believe i ruled correctly, but my player feels that he should have had a partial action before the opponent's action, and then a full action after. I think this would get messy. )
 

The PC gets his regular action, then the other guy's readied action takes place, then the PC's action that triggered it. Doing it otherwise gets even messier.

As to initiative orders, on subsequent rounds the other guy gets to move before the PC, like always.
 

Harrassed DM said:
my player feels that he should have had a partial action before the opponent's action, and then a full action after.
Your player is wrong.


Haste only gives you an extra partial action. It does not give you and extra turn. You need to keep that in mind or all kinds of rules get screwy (though this is not one of them since the answer is clear either way). Hopefully you don't let your players take two 5ft steps, or move and then partial charge in a different direction...
 
Last edited:

Ki Ryn said:
Your player is wrong.


Haste only gives you an extra partial action. It does not give you and extra turn. You need to keep that in mind or all kinds of rules get screwy (though this is not one of them since the answer is clear either way). Hopefully you don't let your players take two 5ft steps, or move and then partial charge in a different direction...

Actually, if you look at the core rules carefully, moving and then partial charging in another direction is legitimate.

You have to move in a straight line when you charge. Nowhere in the rules does it say all your movement in a round must be in a straight line when you charge.

Normally, all your movement in the round is used up in the charge, but that's not always true, as in Haste.

Mind you, I know this is a minority position and has been rule the other way in the FAQ.
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top