Haste and Refocus

Hey folks. I haven't gotten a response from the Sage yet. Best I got was from CS. We all know that Sage replies need to be taken with a grain a salt. But since this is CS, make sure you have a whole cup ready...

I have a few questions about the Refocus full-round action.

1) The Refocus full-round action states that you cannot move. Does this include the 5-foot adjustment/step allowed with a full-round action?

Yes, if you choose to refocus you cannot move at all.

2) If you are hasted, and you take the Refocus action, can you use your partial action from Haste to a) move, b) cast a spell.

Sure, but you must do this before you take your full round action.

3) If you can do b) with the partial action from haste, and you can't take a 5-foot step as part of your full-round Refocus action, can you take the 5-foot step that comes with the partial action from haste?

Yes.

Thanks for your help!

Sincerely,
******************************************************************
Patrick
Wizards of the Coast - Game Support
Website: http://www.wizards.com
Game Support E-Mail: custserv@wizards.com
Game Support Phone: 1-800-324-6496
Monday through Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM PST
Corporate Phone: (425) 226-6500
Magic Online Store Phone: 1-800-250-7589
Magic Online Store Email: ordersup@wizards.com
Please quote this e-mail in any reply.
******************************************************************
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I'm with CS on this one, actually; ruling that you can't use your extra action from haste with refocus makes the refocus action suck even worse than it already does. In my experience, the only time people refocus is if they don't have anything useful to do and plan on readying an action for the next round.
 

kreynolds -

Thanks for the follow up!

...I don't know; I don't really see CS putting
much thought into the answer.. Seems like
he does not categorize Refocus as a "special
full round action", different from other full round
actions (even with the move restriction).

You might point him to the inconsistencies in the
FAQ vs SRD and prod him into doing a little research.

Thanks again,

~D
 

From what I've seen of CS rulings, they seem to always go by the literal reading of the book. Where the Sage might point out a mistaken or misleading passage, CS will usually just pick the most apparent meaning.

So this is exactly the ruling I'd have predicted from them, whether I agreed with it or not.
 

TECHNICALLY - a 5ft step IS a movement because you are physically moving; however,

There is a difference between a 5ft step (adjustment) and a 5ft movement.

5ft step(adjustment/ the one you can take with a full attack action).
1. Does not provoke AoO
2. Can only EVER be done once in a round.
3. Does not count as a movement ACTION (but is still considered MOVING - technincally as per my very 1st statement)

5ft movement (You decide to move that much, you can move 6.33 ft if you wish instead)
1. CAN provoke an AoO
2. Can be done as many times as you have Move Equiv actions in a single round.
3. Counts as a MOVE action (and yes once again, you are technically moving).


It settles the case of moving and movement, and/or is a 5ft step moving technically or not.

Just dont confuse the 2, there IS a major difference, the rest is truly semantics.

Any questions??
 

Remove ads

Top