Haste and Refocus

Re: Re: Re: Haste and Refocus

kreynolds said:


A 5-foot step is not a move.

I disagree. PHB, page 124, Full Attack:

"Full attack is a full-round action. Because of this, the only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step."
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Souljourner said:
I could understand if the FAQ says refocus takes the entire round including any haste actions etc... however, a full round action does not always take a FULL ROUND to complete..... otherwise you wouldn't be able to get an extra attack during your haste partial action if you did a full attack, since that's also a full round action.

You're right. All full-round actions don't always take full round's time. My mistake, but this wasn't my main argument.

According to the FAQ you *can* take a 5' step. It also says you have to take your entire round without acting or moving, but that's generally true of any full round action. Haste is a special case.

The FAQ also states, that you don't gain any "extra" round during your hasted turn and you can't break any basic rules (like refocus) even when hasted. Refocus says you can't move at all during that turn and you can't do anything else either. So no 5-foot steps and no extra partial actions that turn. IMO, we need no more evidence.
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Haste and Refocus

Zerth said:
I disagree. PHB, page 124, Full Attack:

"Full attack is a full-round action. Because of this, the only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step."

Well, you got me on terminology, so I'll back off this part. :cool:

I do have a question for you though. What other full-round actions don't allow even a 5-foot step? I'm not aware of any.
 

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Haste and Refocus

kreynolds said:

I do have a question for you though. What other full-round actions don't allow even a 5-foot step? I'm not aware of any.

Well, neither am I :)
 

SRD
Refocus (no move) [Full][AoO: No]

Description: Refocus is a full-round action during which a combatant cannot move. The combatant moves up in the initiative count and is positioned as though it had rolled a 20 on the initiative check. Other modifiers (such as for Dexterity and for the Improved Initiative feat) also apply to this roll of 20 when determining the new initiative check result.

Seems to me that the only difference between Refocus and
other full round actions (such as casting Monster Summoning I)
is that Refocus specifies that you cannot move.

Fine. So you cast a spell as a partial (thanks haste!),
then refocus (normal) then next round proceed on your
new initiative. Haste is simply granting the extra partial
(which it should) and you really see no benefit *unless*
you lost initiative while hasted. Not so broken and by
the explicit (not inferred) rules. Agree?

~D
 
Last edited:


Nope don't agree. No Move means no 5-foot correction. Since it denies something that other full round actions give it denies all action during the round even if hasted. As I said though I would allow the PC a bit more knowledge then they would gain normally for being hasted. Although if the player insisted I would allow them the little haste schaningan, then I would set up a battle were they fought 12 hasted wizards of their own level.
 

Alright, I see your point:

Refocus is a "special full round action" that does
not allow for ANY OTHER ACTION during that round
haste or free actions included. Correct?

Thus you cannot do *anything* during a round
that you Refocus. I hope I am getting this right.

~D
 

daemonslye said:
Alright, I see your point:

Refocus is a "special full round action" that does
not allow for ANY OTHER ACTION during that round
haste or free actions included. Correct?

Thus you cannot do *anything* during a round
that you Refocus. I hope I am getting this right.

~D

Exactly.
 

Teleri_mm said:
Haste says very clearly you can take a partial action before or after your normal action for that turn. With that in mind I can see no reason why someone can not take their hasted partial action and then during their normal action decide to delay. If the person decided to take the haste action after their turn they would have to wait till AFTER their turn… which would be after they are done delaying.

Just my thoughts.

Teleri_mm

You can perform your partial action before or after 'action', but delay is NO action.
 

Stalker0 said:
Finally, I can post again!!

pg. 134 of phb under refocus

"Reforcus is a full-round action during which you cannot move. A character can choose to do nothing for an entire round and refocus his thoughts as he gets his bearings and apprasies the situation. The effect is that on the following rounds of the combat, the character..."

Notice it says you can do nothing for entire round not entire full round action.
Round is not the same as full round action.
Full round action is generaly MEA + Standard Action (or 1 Big full round action).
Round is everything from begining of your intiative till your next turn in initiative order.

So Round is Partial from Haste + Full round action, and you can do nothing for entire round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top