Heavy Blade Opportunity Question

SigmaX0

First Post
I've just picked up Heavy Blade Opportunity as my 2nd Paragon Tier feat for my level 12 Ranger/Stormwarden.

Obviously, most of the time I will probably be using Twin Strike to replace my basic attack for the AoO, but my question is this: Twin Strike allows 2 attacks against different targets, so how does this apply on the AoO?

IE if I were the kill the creature that provoked the attack with the first hit, could I then use the second attack on a different adjacent creature? Can I spread those 2 attacks even if the primary target survives?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Note that you have to choose both targets for Twin Strike when you start the attack. You can't drop one guy, then choose to use the 2nd attack on someone else.
 

Note that you have to choose both targets for Twin Strike when you start the attack. You can't drop one guy, then choose to use the 2nd attack on someone else.
Really? Care to elaborate on that one or point it out in rules and/or errata?

I'll freely admit I'm not a rules lawyer and may ignore it anyway, but I'm curious to see where the rules support this. The elf bow ranger in our party certainly doesn't designate one or two targets at the time he fires his first shot. He targets the second shot based on the result of the first every time.
 

It's the rules of order, from the PHB2. Everything after the range designation is done in order (except when stated otherwise).

So, looking at Twin Strike:
Targets: One or two creatures
Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon) or Dexterity vs. AC (ranged), two attacks
Hit: 1[W] damage per attack.
Increase damage to 2[W] at 21st level.

You declare your target at the target line. If you haven't declared a second target by that point, when you get to the attack line it's too late, you've already passed by it.

Contrast with:

Target: One creature
Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon) or Dexterity vs. AC (ranged)
Hit: Hit: 1[W] damage.
Effect: Make a secondary attack against the target or another creature
Secondary Target: One creature
Secondary Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon) or Dexterity vs. AC (ranged)
Hit: Hit: 1[W] damage.


Do note, monsters do things differently, because they have their powers displayed differently using different notations.
 
Last edited:

So assuming you designated the target of your OH attack as a different target, you can attack that target as part of an AoO on a different target? Seems a little unfair on a creature to take an AoO without provoking one.
 

So assuming you designated the target of your OH attack as a different target, you can attack that target as part of an AoO on a different target? Seems a little unfair on a creature to take an AoO without provoking one.

Reminds me of the 3E discussions about someone with Cleave dropping a foe on an AoO and then getting a Cleave attack on a bystander. The more things change...
 

Though the example equally applies to when you use Cleave or Swordburst to incidentally hit someone else, too. Yeah, it's pretty awesome.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top