Help with Looking up/Confirming a ruling.

Ysgarran

Registered User
Under all the Magic Items there is an associated 'Caster Level' with that magic item. For example, the 'Bead of Force' has: Caster Level: 11th; Prerequisites: Craft Wondrous Item, wall of force; Market Price: 2,000 gp

I remember that 'Caster Level' is only a guide and not hard lower bound limit. That means a ninth level wizard with 'Craft Wonderous Item' and access to the spell 'Wall of Force' has the ability to create a 'Bead of Force', he doesn't have to wait to be 11th level.

Now, am I remembering this correctly and if I am can someone help with the location of that rule?

thanks,
Ysgarran.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



the Jester said:
You have to have the caster level to create the item. That's one of the only balancing factors for item creation.

It depends on if it is listed as a prerequisite. See what Sean K. Reynolds has to say about it here:

http://www.seankreynolds.com/rpgfiles/misc/magicitemcreation.htm

Or the short quote:
Caster Level: The caster level of a magic item is the default caster level of a "found" item of this type (such as in a treasure hoard). It determines what caster level the effects of the item has (if any) and how difficult it is to affect the item with a dispel magic spell. All effects in a magic item should normally have the same caster level for simplicity's sake, but it is acceptable to create an item with effects at different caster levels (only one caster level should be listed here).
Prerequisites: The feats, spells, and other criteria to make the item are listed here. Feats are listed first, spells are listed second and in alphabetical order, and other criteria (such as "creator must be an elf" for boots of elvenkind) last.
Caster level is not a prerequisite unless it is listed after the Prerequisite header. As mentioned above, the caster level is the default caster level of a "found" item. A pearl of power in the DMG has a caster level of 17, but its prerequisites are "Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be able to cast spells of the spell level to be recalled." This means that a typical "found" 1st-level pearl of power has a caster level of 17 (it's hard to dispel) but there is no reason why a 3rd-level wizard with the Craft Wondrous Item can't make a 1st-level pearl of power.
 

Thanks for the references. Much appreciated. I'm surprised something hasn't made it into the FAQ regarding this...perhaps it is in the erratta for the DMG? I'll have to take a look.

Ysgarran.
 

Ysgarran said:
Thanks for the references. Much appreciated. I'm surprised something hasn't made it into the FAQ regarding this...perhaps it is in the erratta for the DMG? I'll have to take a look.

Ysgarran.

I am equally surprised, I just recently realised this when it was brought up in another posting. I believe it is definately a commonly made mistake.
 


I'm still gonna say you have to have a caster level equal to the item's; that's what the DMG says.

The main thing is, do you really want low-level casters making high-level items?
 

the Jester said:
I'm still gonna say you have to have a caster level equal to the item's; that's what the DMG says.

The main thing is, do you really want low-level casters making high-level items?
Usually the cost in gold and XP keeps the high level items from the low-level casters, as well as access to higher level spells. The caster level in the item description is the default caster level for these items when you find them as treasure. If a character makes something, the maker determines the caster level. I find it hard to believe that only wizards of 17th level or higher can make Pearls of Power for 1st level spells. I surely don't play it that way. And many of the authors of the core books have said that these were not intended to be prerequisites, or they would have been listed after the "Prerequisites" heading, not before.
 
Last edited:

So what this means is that my 5yh level wiz cab make a brilliant energy greatsword if he has the money!!!! No way.....

I think I remeber something written in the DMG that says that cater level also has to be as high at written under the item's description....

Morgion
 

Remove ads

Top